Franchise opportunities compared
Appell Striping vs UNITS
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
- Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Appell Striping: 2, UNITS: 22). Different groups are not directly comparable.
| Disclosure | Appell Striping | UNITS |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $224,907 Totals 2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 17 | $518,000 – $1,269,400 Total estimated initial investment: $518,000 to $1,269,400 2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 18 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | $5,000 A $50,000 Territory Fee and $5,000 Initial Training Fee are also due at signing. 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 9 | $222,000 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 13 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 8%/15% NA; $500/mo min m13 Royalty 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 10 | 4% Royalty Fee: 4% of monthly Gross Sales for the first six months after opening, 6% for the second six months after opening, and 8% for the remainder of the term; payable monthly 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | 1% of percentage of gross sales; $200 monthly minimum beginning in month 13 Brand Fund Contribution 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11 | 2% y Fee is measured from the date the UNITS business originally opens. Brand Fund — 2 — 2% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 24 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 50 | Not available No reviewed outlet counts |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | +16 Calculated: 8 at end of 2023 → 24 at end of 2025 | Not available Only one year reported |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | April 2023 2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 6 | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | 2023 2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 6 | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Franchised (5 locations) — revenue $402,390 other Gross Sales · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 48 Company-owned (1 locations) — revenue $6,720,279 other Gross Sales · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 49 | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Traditional24–48months $190,677 other 24–48months Labor Costs Average · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 47 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 2023 Traditional Franchises in annual-revenue band Over $2,000,000 1 franchises other 2023 Over $2,000,000 count · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 46 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 2025 Traditional Franchises in annual-revenue band Below $500,000 15 franchises other 2025 Below $500,000 count · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 46 +19 more groups in the full report |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
Appell Striping vs UNITS: common questions
- Which costs less to open, Appell Striping or UNITS?
- Appell Striping: $224,907 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 17); UNITS: $518,000 – $1,269,400 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 18). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Appell Striping. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
- How do Appell Striping and UNITS royalties compare?
- Appell Striping: 8%/15% NA; $500/mo min m13 (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 10); UNITS: 4% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
- Do Appell Striping and UNITS disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
- Appell Striping has reviewed Item 19 figures for 2 location groups; UNITS has reviewed Item 19 figures for 22 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.
Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

