Franchise opportunities compared
Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate vs Joe Homebuyer
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate figures come from its 2026 FDD and Joe Homebuyer figures from its 2025 FDD, so the years differ.
- Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Only Joe Homebuyer has reviewed Item 19 figures here.
| Disclosure | Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate | JHJoe Homebuyer |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $33,970 – $456,600 2026 FDD · Item 7 | $131,200 – $444,500 Total investment 2025 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 25 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | $25,000 The franchisor says it may waive or reduce this fee under its sales incentive program. 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 28 | $50,000 2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 9 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 5% · percent of Gross Revenue, with an annual cap of $6,250.00 per affiliated sales associate Royalty Fees Program A 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 28 | Not available No reviewed royalty record |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | 1% of gross revenue up to a bmf contribution per affiliated sales associate of $1,250.00 Brand Marketing Fund Fees Program A below threshold 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 30 | $200 National Advertising Fee, current 2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 362 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 73 | 64 Outlets at end of 2024 2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 60 |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | −42 Calculated: 404 at end of 2023 → 362 at end of 2025 | +3 Calculated: 61 at end of 2022 → 64 at end of 2024 |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | 2008 2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 10 | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | 2007 2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 9 | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchise outlets 49 outlets other Excluded outlets · 2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 54 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 39 reporting franchise outlets $2,605,112 other High net sales · 2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 55 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 39 franchise outlets plus one Utah affiliate $558,573 other net sales including Utah affiliate · 2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 55 +1 more groups in the full report |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
