Franchise opportunities compared

    Bojangles Restaurant vs Sonic Drive-In

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Bojangles Restaurant

    Not available

    Sonic Drive-In

    $1,485,200

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 38

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Bojangles Restaurant

    Not available

    Sonic Drive-In

    Not available

    Royalty · Item 6

    Bojangles Restaurant

    4%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 22

    Sonic Drive-In

    1%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 34

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Bojangles Restaurant: 6, Sonic Drive-In: 8). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Bojangles Restaurant

    Not available
    No reviewed Item 7 total

    Sonic Drive-In

    $1,485,200
    TOTAL ESTIMATED INITIAL INVESTMENT (excluding free- standing real estate costs) (15) — 1485200
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 38
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Bojangles Restaurant

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified

    Sonic Drive-In

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Bojangles Restaurant

    4%
    Royalty
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 22

    Sonic Drive-In

    1%
    lows: Duration of Effective Royalty Fee Effective Royalty Fee Opening through Year 1 — 1%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 34
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Bojangles Restaurant

    1%
    Marketing Development Fund — 1%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 22

    Sonic Drive-In

    Not available
    No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Bojangles Restaurant

    867
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 77

    Sonic Drive-In

    3,412
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 74
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Bojangles Restaurant

    +50
    Calculated: 817 at end of 2023 → 867 at end of 2025

    Sonic Drive-In

    −109
    Calculated: 3,521 at end of 2023 → 3,412 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Bojangles Restaurant

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Sonic Drive-In

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Bojangles Restaurant

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Sonic Drive-In

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Bojangles Restaurant

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Sonic Drive-In

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    BRBojangles Restaurant
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Bojangles franchised full-size restaurants with the Bone-In Chicken menu, fisca…
    $2,457,841
    other Bone-in full-size franchised avg gross sales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 68
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Bojangles company-operated full-size restaurants with Bone-In Chicken menu, fis…
    $2,192,197
    other Bone-in full-size company-operated avg gross sales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 68
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Bojangles franchised Express Restaurants, fiscal year 2025 (December 30, 2024 t…
    $1,937,055
    other Express franchised avg gross sales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 73
    +3 more groups in the full report
    SDSonic Drive-In
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 2nd Quartile
    47 percent
    other 2nd Quartile
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 71
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All Restaurants
    1,338 restaurants
    other All Restaurants
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 72
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 1st Quartile
    294 restaurants
    other 1st Quartile
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 71
    +5 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Bojangles Restaurant vs Sonic Drive-In: common questions

    How do Bojangles Restaurant and Sonic Drive-In royalties compare?
    Bojangles Restaurant: 4% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 22); Sonic Drive-In: 1% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 34). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Bojangles Restaurant or Sonic Drive-In?
    Bojangles Restaurant: 867 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 77); Sonic Drive-In: 3,412 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 74). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Bojangles Restaurant and Sonic Drive-In disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Bojangles Restaurant has reviewed Item 19 figures for 6 location groups; Sonic Drive-In has reviewed Item 19 figures for 8 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching