Franchise opportunities compared

    Choice Hotels International vs Designated Territory

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Choice Hotels International

    $9,490,495 – $55,271,100

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 49

    Designated Territory

    $85,500 – $810,700

    2025 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Choice Hotels International

    Not available

    Designated Territory

    Not available

    Royalty · Item 6

    Choice Hotels International

    6%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 33

    Designated Territory

    6%

    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12

    Before you compare

    • Choice Hotels International figures come from its 2026 FDD and Designated Territory figures from its 2025 FDD, so the years differ.
    • Designated Territory discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Only Choice Hotels International has reviewed Item 19 figures here.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Choice Hotels International

    $9,490,495 – $55,271,100
    Total initial investment excluding real estate — lower estimate
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 49

    Designated Territory

    $85,500 – $810,700
    2025 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Choice Hotels International

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified

    Designated Territory

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Choice Hotels International

    6%
    Royalty Fee: percent of preceding month's Gross Room Revenues, payable monthly
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 33

    Designated Territory

    6%
    Royalty fee rate
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Choice Hotels International

    10%
    Maximum Choice Accelerate fee for consumed stays resulting from international paid and meta advertising — 10%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 35

    Designated Territory

    1%
    Marketing fund rate maximum — 1%
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Choice Hotels International

    46
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 81

    Designated Territory

    52
    Outlets at end of 2024
    2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 33
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Choice Hotels International

    −6
    Calculated: 52 at end of 2023 → 46 at end of 2025

    Designated Territory

    +3
    Calculated: 49 at end of 2022 → 52 at end of 2024
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Choice Hotels International

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Designated Territory

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Choice Hotels International

    1941
    From a verified franchisor listing

    Designated Territory

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Choice Hotels International

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Designated Territory

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Choice Hotels International
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All qualifying franchised Radisson hotels
    47.7 percent
    other All qualifying franchised Radisson hotels
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 78
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Qualifying franchised Radisson hotels with above-brand-average likelihood to re…
    52.6 percent
    other Qualifying franchised Radisson hotels with above-brand-average likelihood to recommend
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 79
    DTDesignated Territory

    No reviewed Item 19 figures

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Choice Hotels International vs Designated Territory: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Choice Hotels International or Designated Territory?
    Choice Hotels International: $9,490,495 – $55,271,100 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 49); Designated Territory: $85,500 – $810,700 (2025 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Designated Territory. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Choice Hotels International and Designated Territory royalties compare?
    Choice Hotels International: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 33); Designated Territory: 6% (2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Choice Hotels International or Designated Territory?
    Choice Hotels International: 46 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 81); Designated Territory: 52 (2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 33). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Choice Hotels International and Designated Territory disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Choice Hotels International has reviewed Item 19 figures for 2 location groups; Designated Territory has no reviewed Item 19 figures on file. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching