Franchise opportunities compared
DoubleTree with Piebird vs Extended Stay America Premier Suites
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
- Extended Stay America Premier Suites discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Only Extended Stay America Premier Suites has reviewed Item 19 figures here.
| Disclosure | DoubleTree with Piebird | ESExtended Stay America Premier Suites |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $1,427,231 – $64,868,539 TOTAL 2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 45 | $0.00 – $10,070,070 2026 FDD · Item 7 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | $100,000 The fee is $100,000 plus $400 for each additional guest room or suite over 250. 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 24 | Not available No single standard fee identified |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 5% of gross rooms revenue General Monthly Royalty Fee 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 29 | Not available No reviewed royalty record |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | Not available No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee | Not available No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 0 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 93 | 57 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 68 |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | +0 Calculated: 0 at end of 2023 → 0 at end of 2025 | +16 Calculated: 41 at end of 2023 → 57 at end of 2025 |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | 2026 2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 9 | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | 2007 2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 9 | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Owned full-year hotels $73 other Owned RevPAR · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 62 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — The 32 Brand Hotels owned indirectly by ESH Hospitality and operated by its aff… 50 percent other Owned RevPAR · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 62 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — The 17 Brand Hotels operated by franchisees for the entire 2025 calendar year (… 72 percent other Franchised Occupancy · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 63 +8 more groups in the full report |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
