Franchise opportunities compared

    Freestanding Restaurant vs Subway

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Freestanding Restaurant

    $301,095 – $1,640,034

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Subway

    $227,000 – $458,000

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Freestanding Restaurant

    $30,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 9

    Subway

    $15,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 29

    Royalty · Item 6

    Freestanding Restaurant

    0%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11

    Subway

    8%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 36

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Freestanding Restaurant and Subway disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Only Freestanding Restaurant has reviewed Item 19 figures here.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Freestanding Restaurant

    $301,095 – $1,640,034
    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Subway

    $227,000 – $458,000
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Freestanding Restaurant

    $30,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 9

    Subway

    $15,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 29
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Freestanding Restaurant

    0%
    Royalty fee — new Restaurant initial incentive period
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11

    Subway

    8%
    Royalty fee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 36
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Freestanding Restaurant

    5%
    Advertising fee — restaurants — 5%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11

    Subway

    4.5%
    Advertising fee — 4.5%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 36

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Freestanding Restaurant

    409
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 53

    Subway

    18,773
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 94
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Freestanding Restaurant

    −48
    Calculated: 457 at end of 2023 → 409 at end of 2025

    Subway

    −1,360
    Calculated: 20,133 at end of 2023 → 18,773 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Freestanding Restaurant

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Subway

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Freestanding Restaurant

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Subway

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Freestanding Restaurant

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Subway

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    FRFreestanding Restaurant
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — First Quartile of Reporting Freestanding Restaurants, franchised Freestanding R…
    $3,035,900
    other First Quartile
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 47
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Second Quartile (15 Restaurants) of Reporting Freestanding Restaurants: franchi…
    $1,405,516
    other Second Quartile
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 47
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All Reporting C&G Restaurants, franchised Convenience and Gas Station Restauran…
    $758,976
    other All Reporting C&G Restaurants
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 48
    +10 more groups in the full report
    Subway

    Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Freestanding Restaurant vs Subway: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Freestanding Restaurant or Subway?
    Freestanding Restaurant: $301,095 – $1,640,034 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Subway: $227,000 – $458,000 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Subway. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Freestanding Restaurant and Subway royalties compare?
    Freestanding Restaurant: 0% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11); Subway: 8% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 36). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Freestanding Restaurant or Subway?
    Freestanding Restaurant: 409 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 53); Subway: 18,773 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 94). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Freestanding Restaurant and Subway disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Freestanding Restaurant has reviewed Item 19 figures for 13 location groups; Subway makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching