Franchise opportunities compared

    MOD Pizza vs Moe’s Southwest Grill

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • MOD Pizza discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Only Moe’s Southwest Grill has reviewed Item 19 figures here.
    DisclosureMPMOD PizzaMSMoe’s Southwest Grill
    Financial commitment
    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)
    $924,732 – $935,232
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    $644,425
    Endcap and Inline 23 $644,425 $1,401,650 Total Initial Investment – Freestanding 23 — 644425
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 43
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)
    $30,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12
    $7,500
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 29
    Royalty (Item 6)
    Not available
    No reviewed royalty record
    $5.00
    OTHER FEES Type of Fee 1 Amount Date Due Remarks Royalty Fee — 5%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 30
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)
    $2.00
    gift card sales or the one-time sale of any FF&E or inventory items. Marketing Fees — 2%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13
    $1.00
    Marketing Obligation Currently, each calendar quarter, you must spend not less than — 1%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 31
    System scale & health
    Total outlets (Item 20)
    898
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 49
    1,136
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 85
    Net outlet change (Item 20)
    −206
    Calculated: 1,104 at end of 2023 → 898 at end of 2025
    −88
    Calculated: 1,224 at end of 2023 → 1,136 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)
    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    2001
    From a verified franchisor listing
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Performance (Item 19)
    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group
    Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Traditional eligiblefranchises Top Quartile
    $1,686,299
    other Top Quartile · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 83
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Traditional eligiblefranchises Total
    $1,137,571
    other Total · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 83
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Traditional eligiblefranchises 3rd Quartile
    $879,161
    other 3rd Quartile · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 83
    +2 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.