Franchise opportunities compared

    Nautical Bowls vs Subway

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Nautical Bowls

    $220,200 – $439,850

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Subway

    $227,000 – $458,000

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Nautical Bowls

    $20,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 10

    Subway

    $15,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 29

    Royalty · Item 6

    Nautical Bowls

    6%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11

    Subway

    8%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 36

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Nautical Bowls and Subway disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Only Nautical Bowls has reviewed Item 19 figures here.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Nautical Bowls

    $220,200 – $439,850
    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Subway

    $227,000 – $458,000
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Nautical Bowls

    $20,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 10

    Subway

    $15,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 29
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Nautical Bowls

    6%
    Royalty Fee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11

    Subway

    8%
    Royalty fee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 36
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Nautical Bowls

    2%
    Brand Development Fund Contribution — 2%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11

    Subway

    4.5%
    Advertising fee — 4.5%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 36

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Nautical Bowls

    72
    Outlets at end of 2024
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 42

    Subway

    18,773
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 94
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Nautical Bowls

    +45
    Calculated: 27 at end of 2022 → 72 at end of 2024

    Subway

    −1,360
    Calculated: 20,133 at end of 2023 → 18,773 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Nautical Bowls

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Subway

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Nautical Bowls

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Subway

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Nautical Bowls

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Subway

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Nautical Bowls
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Reporting Outlets open for full 12 months
    $465,281
    other Tier 1 median Net Sales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 38
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Reporting Outlets open for full 12 months
    41 outlets
    other Franchisee-owned reporting outlets
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 37
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Reporting Outlets open for full 12 months
    2 outlets
    other Affiliate-owned reporting outlets
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 37
    +3 more groups in the full report
    Subway

    Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Nautical Bowls vs Subway: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Nautical Bowls or Subway?
    Nautical Bowls: $220,200 – $439,850 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Subway: $227,000 – $458,000 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Nautical Bowls. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Nautical Bowls and Subway royalties compare?
    Nautical Bowls: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11); Subway: 8% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 36). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Nautical Bowls or Subway?
    Nautical Bowls: 72 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 42); Subway: 18,773 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 94). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Nautical Bowls and Subway disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Nautical Bowls has reviewed Item 19 figures for 6 location groups; Subway makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching