Franchise opportunities compared

    Royal vs VCS Business

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Royal

    $22,696 – $81,312

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 37

    VCS Business

    $13,765 – $36,700

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 16

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Royal

    Not available

    VCS Business

    Not available

    Royalty · Item 6

    Royal

    11% · percent of monthly Gross Revenue; $100 minimum for first 12 months and $250 minimum thereafter

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 23

    VCS Business

    6%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Only neither brand has reviewed Item 19 figures here.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Royal

    $22,696 – $81,312
    Total
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 37

    VCS Business

    $13,765 – $36,700
    Total estimated investment
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 16
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Royal

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified

    VCS Business

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Royal

    11% · percent of monthly Gross Revenue; $100 minimum for first 12 months and $250 minimum thereafter
    Royalty Fee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 23

    VCS Business

    6%
    Royalty
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Royal

    1.5% of monthly gross revenue
    Advertising Fee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 23

    VCS Business

    Not available
    No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Royal

    4,750
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 72

    VCS Business

    1,914
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 33
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Royal

    −178
    Calculated: 4,928 at end of 2023 → 4,750 at end of 2025

    VCS Business

    −286
    Calculated: 2,200 at end of 2023 → 1,914 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Royal

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    VCS Business

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Royal

    June 1, 2003
    2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 8

    VCS Business

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Royal

    Incorporated in April 2003; reincorporated under Wisconsin law in April 2008
    2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 8

    VCS Business

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Royal

    Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation

    VCS Business

    Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Royal vs VCS Business: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Royal or VCS Business?
    Royal: $22,696 – $81,312 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 37); VCS Business: $13,765 – $36,700 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 16). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for VCS Business. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Royal and VCS Business royalties compare?
    Royal: 11% · percent of monthly Gross Revenue; $100 minimum for first 12 months and $250 minimum thereafter (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 23); VCS Business: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Royal or VCS Business?
    Royal: 4,750 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 72); VCS Business: 1,914 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 33). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Royal and VCS Business disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Royal makes no Item 19 financial performance representation; VCS Business makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching