Franchise opportunities compared

    The Laundry Spot vs traditional

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • traditional discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (The Laundry Spot: 1, traditional: 5). Different groups are not directly comparable.
    DisclosureThe Laundry SpotTtraditional
    Financial commitment
    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)
    $1,268,500 – $2,241,750
    Total lower initial investment
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 18
    $1,330,000 – $4,841,500
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)
    $60,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 11
    Not available
    No single standard fee identified
    Royalty (Item 6)
    5%
    Royalty percentage of gross sales
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12
    5%
    Royalty
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)
    2%
    Brand Marketing Fund Contribution permitted increase in gross sales percentage — 2%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12
    3%
    Brand Development Fund — 3%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 15
    System scale & health
    Total outlets (Item 20)
    4
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 49
    161
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 80
    Net outlet change (Item 20)
    +0
    Calculated: 4 at end of 2023 → 4 at end of 2025
    +0
    Calculated: 161 at end of 2023 → 161 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)
    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Performance (Item 19)
    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record
    4 businesses
    other Reporting affiliate locations · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 46
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All 154 franchised Mellow Mushroom restaurants operating throughout the 2025 Me…
    $154
    other all group · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 78
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Top 25% performing group: 38 franchised restaurants
    $3,039,278
    other top group · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 78
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Bottom group: 38 franchised restaurants in the disclosure's Bottom 25% cohort
    $38
    other bottom group · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 79
    +2 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    The Laundry Spot vs traditional: common questions

    Which costs less to open, The Laundry Spot or traditional?
    The Laundry Spot: $1,268,500 – $2,241,750 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 18); traditional: $1,330,000 – $4,841,500 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for The Laundry Spot. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do The Laundry Spot and traditional royalties compare?
    The Laundry Spot: 5% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12); traditional: 5% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, The Laundry Spot or traditional?
    The Laundry Spot: 4 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 49); traditional: 161 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 80). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do The Laundry Spot and traditional disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    The Laundry Spot has reviewed Item 19 figures for 1 location group; traditional has reviewed Item 19 figures for 5 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures