School of Rock

    Franchise research report · reviewed 2026 disclosure data

    Researching School of Rock franchise opportunities? Every figure below is cited to the FDD.

    Reviewed sources
    Franchising since
    2005
    Source: franchise.org
    Headquarters
    Canton, MA United States
    Source: franchise.org

    School of Rock franchise combines music education with performance-based learning, teaching students of all ages to play instruments through a proven curriculum

    Headline figures

    School of Rock quick facts

    Is School of Rock a franchise?
    Yes. School of Rock offers franchises through a Franchise Disclosure Document. At the end of 2025, it reported 276 franchised and 47 company-owned outlets (2026 FDD, Item 20, PDF p. 63).
    How much does it cost to open a School of Rock franchise?
    The School of Rock Franchise Disclosure Document reports separate estimated initial investments by format: $756,100 for item 7 total investment maximum (2026 FDD, Item 7, PDF p. 27); $378,050–$756,100 for item 7 total investment minimum (2026 FDD, Item 7, PDF p. 27). These formats are not combined. Each is the franchisor's disclosed estimate, not a quote. Details
    What is the School of Rock initial franchise fee?
    The disclosed initial franchise fee for a standard single unit is $59,900 (2026 FDD, Item 5, PDF p. 20). Other fee options (for example multi-unit or conversion) are listed separately in the report. Details
    What ongoing fees does School of Rock charge?
    The disclosed ongoing royalty is 8% (2026 FDD, Item 6, PDF p. 21). The brand or advertising fund contribution is 3% (2026 FDD, Item 6, PDF p. 21). Other recurring fees are listed in Item 6. Details
    Does School of Rock disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Yes. The School of Rock FDD includes an Item 19 financial performance representation (2026 FDD, Item 19, PDF p. 61). Figures apply only to the locations and period each one covers. Details
    How many School of Rock locations are there?
    The FDD reports 323 outlets at the end of 2025 (2026 FDD, Item 20, PDF p. 63). Existing locations do not indicate territory availability. Details
    Is School of Rock a good franchise to buy?
    Franopolis does not rate or recommend franchises. From the reviewed FDD: Item 19 includes financial performance figures; check which locations and period they cover; Item 20 lists outlet openings, closures and transfers; Item 6 includes a brand or advertising fund contribution on top of royalty; Item 20 also lists current and former franchisees you can contact. Review the full FDD with a franchise attorney and accountant before deciding.

    From reviewed FDD figures only. Not a recommendation or projection.

    What the disclosures show

    1. 1The 2026 FDD (Item 7) estimates opening costs separately by format: $756,100 (Item 7 total investment maximum); $378,050 – $756,100 (Item 7 total investment minimum); several initial fee options apply.
    2. 2Item 19 covers 2 separate groups: revenue and other measures and operating income and profit for 46 Company-owned locations; revenue and other measures for 243 Franchised locations. They are not combined.

    From reviewed FDD figures only. Not a recommendation or projection.

    School of Rock head-to-head

    Closest peers in the same subcategory, side by side from reviewed FDD figures. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    Costs · Items 5–7

    What does it cost to open?

    Estimated opening costs and the fees payable to the franchisor.

    Startup Investment — Item 7

    Range across 2 single-unit formats

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Formats disclosed in Item 7 (2)

    Each format has its own total. The total depends on the format you choose.

    • Item 7 total investment minimumPDF p. 27$378,050 – $756,100
    • Item 7 total investment maximumPDF p. 27$756,100

    Standard single-unit franchise fee

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 20
    Discounted and multi-unit options are separate; see all fees.

    Ongoing Fees — Item 6

    Selected recurring charges; payment bases and conditions remain attached to each fee.

    Royalty rateMain ongoing fee

    18 reported fees, each with its payment basis, are listed below; they haven't been sorted into recurring, initial and occasional groups yet.

    Financial Performance — Item 19

    What results are disclosed—and for which locations?

    Two separate populations, not a revenue-and-profit comparison. Revenue is not owner income.

    46 locations

    Revenue, operating income, profit and other measures · 46 locations

    Who is counted
    Company-Owned Designated Schools open and operating at least five days per week throughout 2025
    Period
    company-owned
    Excluded
    Of 47 company-owned schools at year end; excludes acquired/sold schools as described on page 60.

    243 locations

    Revenue and other measures · 243 locations

    Who is counted
    Franchised Designated Schools open and operating at least five days per week throughout 2025
    Period
    franchised
    Excluded
    Of 276 franchised schools at year end; excludes schools open less than five days/week, opened in 2025, sold, acquired, or terminated as described on page 60.

    These groups are never combined.

    Outlet Changes — Item 20

    How has the outlet count changed?

    United States, as labeled in the FDD · counts as of December 31, 2025 of each year.

    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 63

    Net +42 outlets, 2023–2025

    0281202330320243232025+22+20

    Year-end counts reported in Item 20. The scale starts at zero; the labels between the dots show each year's change. Openings and closures for 2025 haven't been pulled from the Item 20 tables yet, so no turnover or churn is shown.

    Questions to investigate

    Prompts based on what this brand's reviewed disclosures do and don't show — not conclusions. Join free as a member to save questions to your research.

    For the franchisor

    • Which line items in the 2026 Item 7 estimate ($378,050 – $756,100) vary most by market, and why?

    • Which initial fee option would apply to my situation, and what conditions or discounts affect it?

    • Which locations are included in the Item 19 figures, and which were excluded?

    • Is a territory available in my area, and how is it defined in my agreement?

    For current and former owners

    • How did your actual startup costs and timeline compare with the Item 7 estimate?

    • How many hours a week do you work in the business, and in what role?

    • How do your results compare with the Item 19 figures, and what explains the difference?

    • What support from the franchisor has been most and least useful?

    For your advisors

    • Ask a franchise attorney to review the territory, renewal, transfer and termination terms.

    • Ask an accountant to build a cash-flow plan using your own assumptions, not the franchisor's.

    Sources & vintage history

    Every displayed fact is retained with its disclosure vintage, item, page, and reviewed status. Prior vintages remain on file rather than being overwritten.

    Citations (2026 FDD)

    1. [1]Standard initial franchise fee — Item 5 · PDF p. 20
    2. [2]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Company-Owned Designated Schools open and operating at least five days per week… · PDF p. 61; PDF p. 62
    3. [3]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised Designated Schools open and operating at least five days per week th… · PDF p. 61
    4. [4]Outlet counts — Item 20, Table 1 · PDF p. 63

    "PDF p." is the page in the PDF file; "printed p." is the number printed on the FDD page. Source document: FDD

    Territory & operations

    No territory or operating requirements have been reviewed yet.

    328 addresses in Franopolis's imported location list. Coverage may differ from Item 20 outlet counts.

    These are contract disclosures, not confirmation that any territory is currently available.

    Franchisor financial statements

    No verified franchisor financial statement figures have been reviewed yet.

    SBA-backed loans to franchisees

    Loading…

    Source: U.S. Small Business Administration 7(a) & 504 FOIA data. Loan volume is not a measure of franchisee success.

    At a glance

    Business history

    Not reviewed

    Owner participation

    Not reviewed

    Territory language

    Not reviewed

    Litigation disclosure

    Not reviewed

    Bankruptcy disclosure

    Not reviewed

    Agreement term

    Not reviewed

    Independent analysis of franchisor-provided data. Not investment advice. Franopolis does not distribute FDDs.

    Compare School of Rock with…

    VS