
Stemtree
Franchise research report · reviewed 2026 disclosure data
Researching Stemtree franchise opportunities? Every figure below is cited to the FDD.
Stemtree provides STEM education programs for K–12 students in science, coding, robotics, electricity and electronics, and mathematics. Its listed programs include tutoring, after-school activities, camps, homeschool programs and birthday parties.
Headline figures
Quick facts
- How much does it cost to open a Stemtree franchise?
- The Stemtree Franchise Disclosure Document reports separate estimated initial investments by format: $109,500–$241,300 for estimated total initial investment — low (2026 FDD, Item 7, PDF p. 16); $241,300 for estimated total initial investment — high (2026 FDD, Item 7, PDF p. 16). These formats are not combined. Each is the franchisor's disclosed estimate, not a quote. Details
- What is the Stemtree initial franchise fee?
- The disclosed initial franchise fee for a standard single unit is $44,500 (2026 FDD, Item 5, PDF p. 10). Other fee options (for example multi-unit or conversion) are listed separately in the report. Details
- What ongoing fees does Stemtree charge?
- The disclosed ongoing royalty is 8% (2026 FDD, Item 6, PDF p. 11). The brand or advertising fund contribution is 2% (2026 FDD, Item 6, PDF p. 12). Other recurring fees are listed in Item 6. Details
- Does Stemtree disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
- Yes. The Stemtree FDD includes an Item 19 financial performance representation (2026 FDD, Item 19, PDF p. 35). Figures apply only to the locations and period each one covers. Details
- How many Stemtree locations are there?
- The FDD reports 17 outlets at the end of 2025 (2026 FDD, Item 20, PDF p. 37). Existing locations do not indicate territory availability. Details
From reviewed FDD figures only. Not a recommendation or projection.
What the disclosures show
- 1The 2026 FDD (Item 7) estimates opening costs separately by format: $109,500 – $241,300 (Estimated total initial investment — low); $241,300 (Estimated total initial investment — high); several initial fee options apply.
- 2Item 19 covers 13 separate groups: revenue for locations; other measures for 3 locations; other measures for 2 locations; other measures for 2 locations; other measures for 3 locations; other measures for 3 locations; revenue for 1 locations; revenue for locations; other measures and costs and revenue for 1 locations; other measures for 3 locations; other measures for 2 locations; other measures for 4 locations; other measures for 4 locations. They are not combined.
- 3Outlets held steady in 2025, to 17 (Systemwide, as labeled in the FDD, Item 20).
From reviewed FDD figures only. Not a recommendation or projection.
Costs · Items 5–7
What does it cost to open?
Estimated opening costs and the fees payable to the franchisor.
Startup Investment — Item 7
Range across 2 single-unit formats
2026 FDD · Item 7
Formats disclosed in Item 7 (2)
Each format has its own total. The total depends on the format you choose.
- Estimated total initial investment — lowPDF p. 16$109,500 – $241,300
- Estimated total initial investment — highPDF p. 16$241,300
Standard single-unit franchise fee
2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 10
Discounted and multi-unit options are separate; see all fees.
Ongoing Fees — Item 6
Selected recurring charges; payment bases and conditions remain attached to each fee.
- Royalty FeeMain ongoing fee
19 reported fees, each with its payment basis, are listed below; they haven't been sorted into recurring, initial and occasional groups yet.
Financial Performance — Item 19
What results are disclosed—and for which locations?
13 separate populations, shown apart. Revenue is not owner income.
Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record
Revenue
- Who is counted
- Systemwide earnings information (FPR #3)
- Period
- 2025
- Excluded
- Not specified in this representation.
- Method
- Item 19 FPR #3 Systemwide Information
Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record
Other measures · 3 locations
- Who is counted
- Franchised outlets in the Mid-High 25% performance quartile
- Period
- 2025 average gross sales
- Excluded
- Two part-year openings and two part-year closures excluded; only outlets operating throughout 2025 are included.
- Method
- Item 19 Table FPR #1, 2025 franchised operational outlets; gross sales.
Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record
Other measures · 2 locations
- Who is counted
- Franchised outlets in the Top 25% performance quartile
- Period
- 2024 average gross sales
- Excluded
- Includes eight full-year outlets and one outlet opened in February 2024; excludes seven other part-year openings and four part-year closures.
- Method
- Item 19 Table FPR #1, 2024 franchised operational outlets; gross sales.
Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record
Other measures · 2 locations
- Who is counted
- Franchised outlets in the Mid-Low 25% performance quartile
- Period
- 2024 average gross sales
- Excluded
- Includes eight full-year outlets and one outlet opened in February 2024; excludes seven other part-year openings and four part-year closures.
- Method
- Item 19 Table FPR #1, 2024 franchised operational outlets; gross sales.
Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record
Other measures · 3 locations
- Who is counted
- Franchised operational outlets by performance quartile
- Period
- 2023 average gross sales
- Excluded
- Excludes one outlet opened part way through the year and 2 outlets closed part way through the year.
- Method
- Item 19 Table FPR #1, 2023 franchised operational outlets; gross sales.
Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record
Other measures · 3 locations
- Who is counted
- Franchised outlets in the Bottom 25% performance quartile
- Period
- 2024 average gross sales
- Excluded
- Includes eight full-year outlets and one outlet opened in February 2024; excludes seven other part-year openings and four part-year closures.
- Method
- Item 19 Table FPR #1, 2024 franchised operational outlets; gross sales.
Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record
Revenue · 1 locations
- Who is counted
- One company-owned outlet, open since 2014
- Period
- 2025
- Excluded
- Adjusted gross revenue subtracts the franchise-related expenses listed in the FDD; gross revenue is shown separately.
- Method
- Item 19 FPR #2 — Company-Owned Outlet.
Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record
Revenue
- Who is counted
- Systemwide outlets; FPR #3
- Period
- 2024
- Excluded
- Not specified in this representation.
- Method
- Item 19 FPR #3 Systemwide Information
Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record
Costs, revenue and other measures · 1 locations
- Who is counted
- One company-owned outlet; open since 2014.
- Period
- 2025
- Excluded
- No exclusions stated.
- Method
- Item 19 FPR #2 Company-Owned Outlet.
Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record
Other measures · 3 locations
- Who is counted
- Franchised outlets in the Mid-Low 25% performance quartile
- Period
- 2025 average gross sales
- Excluded
- Two part-year openings and two part-year closures excluded; only outlets operating throughout 2025 are included.
- Method
- Item 19 Table FPR #1, 2025 franchised operational outlets; gross sales.
Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record
Other measures · 2 locations
- Who is counted
- Franchised outlets in the Mid-High 25% performance quartile
- Period
- 2024 average gross sales
- Excluded
- Includes eight full-year outlets and one outlet opened in February 2024; excludes seven other part-year openings and four part-year closures.
- Method
- Item 19 Table FPR #1, 2024 franchised operational outlets; gross sales.
Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record
Other measures · 4 locations
- Who is counted
- Franchised outlets in the Bottom 25% performance quartile
- Period
- 2025 average gross sales
- Excluded
- Two part-year openings and two part-year closures excluded; only outlets operating throughout 2025 are included.
- Method
- Item 19 Table FPR #1, 2025 franchised operational outlets; gross sales.
Locations counted: not stated in the reviewed record
Other measures · 4 locations
- Who is counted
- Franchised outlets in the Top 25% performance quartile
- Period
- 2025 average gross sales
- Excluded
- Two part-year openings and two part-year closures excluded; only outlets operating throughout 2025 are included.
- Method
- Item 19 Table FPR #1, 2025 franchised operational outlets; gross sales.
These groups are never combined.
Outlet Changes — Item 20
How has the outlet count changed?
Systemwide, as labeled in the FDD · counts as of December 31 of each year of each year.
2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 37
Net +4 outlets, 2023–2025
Year-end counts reported in Item 20. The scale starts at zero; the labels between the dots show each year's change. Openings and closures for 2025 haven't been pulled from the Item 20 tables yet, so no turnover or churn is shown.
Questions to investigate
Prompts based on what this brand's reviewed disclosures do and don't show — not conclusions. Join free as a member to save questions to your research.
For the franchisor
Which line items in the 2026 Item 7 estimate ($109,500 – $241,300) vary most by market, and why?
Which initial fee option would apply to my situation, and what conditions or discounts affect it?
Which locations are included in the Item 19 figures, and which were excluded?
Reported units went from 17 to 17 in 2025. How many new units opened, closed or changed hands?
Is a territory available in my area, and how is it defined in my agreement?
For current and former owners
How did your actual startup costs and timeline compare with the Item 7 estimate?
How many hours a week do you work in the business, and in what role?
How do your results compare with the Item 19 figures, and what explains the difference?
What support from the franchisor has been most and least useful?
For your advisors
Ask a franchise attorney to review the territory, renewal, transfer and termination terms.
Ask an accountant to build a cash-flow plan using your own assumptions, not the franchisor's.
Sources & vintage history
Every displayed fact is retained with its disclosure vintage, item, page, and reviewed status. Prior vintages remain on file rather than being overwritten.
Citations (2026 FDD)
- [1]Standard initial franchise fee — Item 5 · PDF p. 10
- [2]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Systemwide earnings information (FPR #3) · PDF p. 35; PDF p. 36
- [3]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised outlets in the Mid-High 25% performance quartile · PDF p. 32
- [4]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised outlets in the Top 25% performance quartile · PDF p. 33
- [5]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised outlets in the Mid-Low 25% performance quartile · PDF p. 33
- [6]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised operational outlets by performance quartile · PDF p. 33
- [7]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised outlets in the Bottom 25% performance quartile · PDF p. 33
- [8]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — One company-owned outlet, open since 2014 · PDF p. 34; PDF p. 35
- [9]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Systemwide outlets; FPR #3 · PDF p. 36
- [10]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — One company-owned outlet; open since 2014. · PDF p. 34; PDF p. 35
- [11]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised outlets in the Mid-Low 25% performance quartile · PDF p. 32
- [12]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised outlets in the Mid-High 25% performance quartile · PDF p. 33
- [13]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised outlets in the Bottom 25% performance quartile · PDF p. 32
- [14]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised outlets in the Top 25% performance quartile · PDF p. 32
- [15]Outlet counts — Item 20, Table 1 · PDF p. 37
"PDF p." is the page in the PDF file; "printed p." is the number printed on the FDD page.
Territory & operations
These are contract disclosures, not confirmation that any territory is currently available.
Legal & agreement
Franchisor financial statements
No verified franchisor financial statement figures have been reviewed yet.
SBA-backed loans to franchisees
Loading…
Source: U.S. Small Business Administration 7(a) & 504 FOIA data. Loan volume is not a measure of franchisee success.
At a glance
Business history
Not reviewed
Owner participation
Not reviewed
Territory language
Litigation disclosure
Not reviewed
Bankruptcy disclosure
Not reviewed
Agreement term
Not reviewed
Reader notes on wording
Our automated check found that these summaries may not match the FDD's exact wording. Read the FDD excerpt itself; it is the authoritative text. Core cost, fee, Item 19 and outlet figures are not affected.
Item 19 · PDF p. 33 · 2026 FDD
Our summary: Top 25% — 2023 average gross sales
“$263,2432 $284,820 $356,434 $148,476 3 2 outlets or 66%”
Note: PDF p.33’s extracted table text gives the average cell as “$263,2432”, with a trailing digit attached and no clear separator. I cannot settle the exact figure from the cited page text without guessing.
Independent analysis of franchisor-provided data. Not investment advice. Franopolis does not distribute FDDs.





