Franchise opportunities compared
Bad Ass Coffee of Hawaii vs Scramblers Brands Development
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Bad Ass Coffee of Hawaii figures come from its 2026 FDD and Scramblers Brands Development figures from its 2025 FDD, so the years differ.
- Scramblers Brands Development discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Bad Ass Coffee of Hawaii: 6, Scramblers Brands Development: 7). Different groups are not directly comparable.
| Disclosure | Bad Ass Coffee of Hawaii | SBScramblers Brands Development |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $186,700 – $915,500 Non-traditional shop total initial investment low estimate: $186,700 2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 22 | $547,000 – $1,096,500 2025 FDD · Item 7 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | $25,000 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 14 | Not available No single standard fee identified |
| Royalty (Item 6) | $5.00 Royalty 1 — 5% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14 | $4.00 of Fee Amount Due Date Remarks our members, officers, employees, and agents. Royalty Fee — 4 2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | $2.00 National Marketing Contribution 1 — 2% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14 | $1.00 erage for the Franchised Business, we may obtain coverage at your expense. Marketing Fund — 1 2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 42 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 51 | 27 Outlets at end of 2024 2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 48 |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | +10 Calculated: 32 at end of 2023 → 42 at end of 2025 | +2 Calculated: 25 at end of 2022 → 27 at end of 2024 |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | 1995 From a verified franchisor listing | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 24 traditional franchised shops open and reporting all twelve months; 36 operat… $790,984 other Net Sales 2 · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 49 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Top 5 traditional franchised shops $1,456,314 other Top 5 Shops · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 49 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Top 10 traditional franchised shops $1,183,989 other Top 10 Shops · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 49 +3 more groups in the full report | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Corporate full-year same-owner restaurants $1,016,002 other Table19-1 Corporate 2023 · 2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 46 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Corporate operating restaurants 55 percent other Table19-2 Gross Sales · 2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 47 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Corporate full-year same-owner restaurants $1,024,037 other Table19-1 Corporate 2024 · 2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 46 +4 more groups in the full report |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
