Franchise opportunities compared

    Baskin-Robbins vs The Original Rainbow Cone Business

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Baskin-Robbins

    $307,400 – $626,700

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 40

    The Original Rainbow Cone Business

    $205,167 – $3,213,753

    2025 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Baskin-Robbins

    $25,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 30

    The Original Rainbow Cone Business

    Not available

    Royalty · Item 6

    Baskin-Robbins

    1%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 33

    The Original Rainbow Cone Business

    6%

    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16

    Before you compare

    • Baskin-Robbins figures come from its 2026 FDD and The Original Rainbow Cone Business figures from its 2025 FDD, so the years differ.
    • The Original Rainbow Cone Business discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Only Baskin-Robbins has reviewed Item 19 figures here.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Baskin-Robbins

    $307,400 – $626,700
    Total Estimated Initial Investment: $307,400 to $626,700.
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 40

    The Original Rainbow Cone Business

    $205,167 – $3,213,753
    2025 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Baskin-Robbins

    $25,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 30

    The Original Rainbow Cone Business

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Baskin-Robbins

    1%
    Continuing Franchise Fee: 1.0% of Gross Sales for Restaurants in Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, or Washington.
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 33

    The Original Rainbow Cone Business

    6%
    Royalty — 6% of Gross Sales
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Baskin-Robbins

    $3,000
    spend $3,000 toward the Marketing Start-Up Fee per Restaurant and we will contribute — 3000
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 33

    The Original Rainbow Cone Business

    3%
    Brand Marketing Fund contribution — maximum 3% of Gross Sales — 3%
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Baskin-Robbins

    1,219
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 87

    The Original Rainbow Cone Business

    6
    Outlets at end of 2024
    2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 81
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Baskin-Robbins

    −64
    Calculated: 1,283 at end of 2023 → 1,219 at end of 2025

    The Original Rainbow Cone Business

    +6
    Calculated: 0 at end of 2022 → 6 at end of 2024
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Baskin-Robbins

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    The Original Rainbow Cone Business

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Baskin-Robbins

    1950
    From a verified franchisor listing

    The Original Rainbow Cone Business

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Baskin-Robbins

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    The Original Rainbow Cone Business

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Baskin-Robbins
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Baskin-Robbins 2025 franchised restaurants, 1st Quartile
    204 restaurants
    other 1st Quartile
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 79
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Baskin-Robbins 2025 franchised restaurants, 2nd Quartile
    204 restaurants
    other 2nd Quartile
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 79
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Baskin-Robbins 2025 franchised restaurants, 3rd Quartile
    204 restaurants
    other 3rd Quartile
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 79
    +14 more groups in the full report
    TOThe Original Rainbow Cone Business

    No reviewed Item 19 figures

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Baskin-Robbins vs The Original Rainbow Cone Business: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Baskin-Robbins or The Original Rainbow Cone Business?
    Baskin-Robbins: $307,400 – $626,700 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 40); The Original Rainbow Cone Business: $205,167 – $3,213,753 (2025 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for The Original Rainbow Cone Business. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Baskin-Robbins and The Original Rainbow Cone Business royalties compare?
    Baskin-Robbins: 1% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 33); The Original Rainbow Cone Business: 6% (2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Baskin-Robbins or The Original Rainbow Cone Business?
    Baskin-Robbins: 1,219 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 87); The Original Rainbow Cone Business: 6 (2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 81). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Baskin-Robbins and The Original Rainbow Cone Business disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Baskin-Robbins has reviewed Item 19 figures for 17 location groups; The Original Rainbow Cone Business has no reviewed Item 19 figures on file. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching