Franchise opportunities compared
California Pizza Kitchen vs Chef Pams Kitchen
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- California Pizza Kitchen figures come from its 2026 FDD and Chef Pams Kitchen figures from its 2025 FDD, so the years differ.
- California Pizza Kitchen and Chef Pams Kitchen disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Only Chef Pams Kitchen has reviewed Item 19 figures here.
| Disclosure | CPCalifornia Pizza Kitchen | CPChef Pams Kitchen |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $28,000 – $5,377,500 2026 FDD · Item 7 | $288,725 – $852,600 2025 FDD · Item 7 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | $50,000 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 11 | $40,000 2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 9 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | $5.00 Royalty 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12 | $6.00 Royalty 2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 9 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | $1.00 Brand fund current 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12 | $1.00 Brand fund contribution 2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 9 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 121 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 50 | 1 Outlets at end of 2023 2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 38 |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | −27 Calculated: 148 at end of 2023 → 121 at end of 2025 | +0 Calculated: 1 at end of 2021 → 1 at end of 2023 |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | 2022 From a verified franchisor listing | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record $39,084 other Estimated royalty fees · 2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 36 |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.