Franchise opportunities compared
CAR-X vs Christian Brothers Automotive
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
- CAR-X discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (CAR-X: 1, Christian Brothers Automotive: 4). Different groups are not directly comparable.
| Disclosure | CCAR-X | Christian Brothers Automotive |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $396,200 – $582,000 2026 FDD · Item 7 | $515,250 – $650,400 Total initial investment 2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 29 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | Not available No single standard fee identified | Not available No single standard fee identified |
| Royalty (Item 6) | $2.50 Royalty — introductory rate first 180 days 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 15 | $50 Royalty fee share of Split Profits 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | $10,000 Initial advertising fee — low 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14 | $3.00 National and regional marketing maximum annual cost rate 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 97 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 52 | 326 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 73 |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | −27 Calculated: 124 at end of 2023 → 97 at end of 2025 | +46 Calculated: 280 at end of 2023 → 326 at end of 2025 |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | 1996 From a verified franchisor listing |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record $758,563 other Tercile 2 average gross sales · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 50 | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Five stores with negative NOI; age categories as quoted -$116,330.00 other Negative NOI case amount · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 72 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Stores open entire calendar years 2024 and 2025 280 stores other Comparable franchisee-owned CBA stores open full years 2024 and 2025 · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 66 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Existing franchisee figures adjusted in tables 50 percent other Royalty fee basis used for adjusted existing franchisee figures · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 66 +1 more groups in the full report |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
