Franchise opportunities compared

    Chem-Dry vs Color Glo International

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Chem-Dry discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Chem-Dry: 1, Color Glo International: 3). Different groups are not directly comparable.
    DisclosureChem-DryColor Glo International
    Financial commitment
    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)
    $74,150 – $249,500
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    $80,800 – $96,375
    Total expenditures: $80,800–$96,375
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 13
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)
    $36,000
    Item 5 also requires an Initial Package costing $44,000 to $78,000, including equipment, supplies, inventory, and other items.
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 15
    $45,500
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 10
    Royalty (Item 6)
    4%–7% of gross sales
    Royalty
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17
    $500
    Royalty Fee: 10% of gross sales or $500 per month
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)
    3% of percentage of gross sales; minimum monthly payment of $150 for standard territory and $75 for small territory
    Marketing Fee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17
    Not available
    No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee
    System scale & health
    Total outlets (Item 20)
    963
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 65
    53
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 41
    Net outlet change (Item 20)
    −320
    Calculated: 1,283 at end of 2023 → 963 at end of 2025
    −1
    Calculated: 54 at end of 2023 → 53 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)
    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)
    1994 under the Chem-Dry name and trademarks; predecessors began in 1978
    2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 8
    1981
    From a verified franchisor listing
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)
    1977
    2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 8
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Performance (Item 19)
    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group
    Franchised locations — other measures and revenue
    $350 per job
    other Projected Average Income Per Job · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 65
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 53 franchised territories open for the entire 2025 Reporting Period
    $77,472
    other Gross Sales · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 33
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised territories open the entire 2024 Reporting Period
    $982,446
    other Gross Sales · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 33
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised territories open the entire 2025 Reporting Period
    $74,652
    other Gross Profit · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 34

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.