Franchise opportunities compared
City Publications vs Journey Payroll & HR
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Initial investment · Item 7
City Publications
$35,300 – $68,900
2026 FDD · Item 7Journey Payroll & HR
$38,575 – $82,375
2025 FDD · Item 7Initial franchise fee · Item 5
City Publications
$89,000
2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 10Journey Payroll & HR
$30,000
2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 11Royalty · Item 6
City Publications
6%
2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 10Journey Payroll & HR
5%
2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12Before you compare
- City Publications figures come from its 2026 FDD and Journey Payroll & HR figures from its 2025 FDD, so the years differ.
- City Publications and Journey Payroll & HR disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Only neither brand has reviewed Item 19 figures here.
Financial commitment
City PublicationsCity Publications
Journey Payroll & HR
City Publications
Journey Payroll & HR
City Publications
Journey Payroll & HR
City Publications
Journey Payroll & HR
System scale & health
City PublicationsCity Publications
Journey Payroll & HR
City Publications
Journey Payroll & HR
City Publications
Journey Payroll & HR
City Publications
Journey Payroll & HR
City Publications
Journey Payroll & HR
Financial performance (Item 19), by location group
City PublicationsNot disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation
Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
City Publications vs Journey Payroll & HR: common questions
- Which costs less to open, City Publications or Journey Payroll & HR?
- City Publications: $35,300 – $68,900 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Journey Payroll & HR: $38,575 – $82,375 (2025 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for City Publications. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
- How do City Publications and Journey Payroll & HR royalties compare?
- City Publications: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 10); Journey Payroll & HR: 5% (2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
- Which has more locations, City Publications or Journey Payroll & HR?
- City Publications: 35 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 34); Journey Payroll & HR: 11 (2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 40). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
- Do City Publications and Journey Payroll & HR disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
- City Publications makes no Item 19 financial performance representation; Journey Payroll & HR makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.
Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.
Keep researching

Full City Publications report
Every reviewed fee, Item 19 group, outlet table and territory disclosure
Full Journey Payroll & HR report
Every reviewed fee, Item 19 group, outlet table and territory disclosure





