Franchise opportunities compared

    Criterium Engineers vs SCA Appraisal Services

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Criterium Engineers

    $75,380 – $174,160

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    SCA Appraisal Services

    $27,300 – $79,950

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 13

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Criterium Engineers

    Not available

    SCA Appraisal Services

    $10,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 8

    Royalty · Item 6

    Criterium Engineers

    4.5%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13

    SCA Appraisal Services

    50%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 9

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Criterium Engineers discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Criterium Engineers: 3, SCA Appraisal Services: 71). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Criterium Engineers

    $75,380 – $174,160
    2026 FDD · Item 7

    SCA Appraisal Services

    $27,300 – $79,950
    Total initial investment
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 13
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Criterium Engineers

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified

    SCA Appraisal Services

    $10,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 8
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Criterium Engineers

    4.5%
    Royalty rate over $1,000,000
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13

    SCA Appraisal Services

    50%
    Standard continuing royalty
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 9
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Criterium Engineers

    $50
    Monthly marketing fee minimum
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13

    SCA Appraisal Services

    $0.00
    Brand fund contribution
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 9

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Criterium Engineers

    30
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 66

    SCA Appraisal Services

    82
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 50
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Criterium Engineers

    −2
    Calculated: 32 at end of 2023 → 30 at end of 2025

    SCA Appraisal Services

    −5
    Calculated: 87 at end of 2023 → 82 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Criterium Engineers

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    SCA Appraisal Services

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Criterium Engineers

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    SCA Appraisal Services

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Criterium Engineers

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    SCA Appraisal Services

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Criterium Engineers
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchisee offices operating at least one Affiliate office location for at leas…
    34 units
    other Affiliate network franchise offices operating as of December 31 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 63
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchisee offices operating at least one Affiliate office location for at leas…
    33 units
    other 2023 total operating franchise offices
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 64
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — New offices opened in the last ten years; transfers of existing offices excluded
    10 years
    other New franchise office lookback period
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 65
    SCA Appraisal Services
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchise Location 1; 2 operating locations
    1,668 files
    other Vehicle appraisal files
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 39
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchise Location 2; 1 operating locations
    1,074 files
    other Vehicle appraisal files
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 39
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchise Location 3; 1 operating locations
    1 locations
    other Operating locations
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 39
    +68 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Criterium Engineers vs SCA Appraisal Services: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Criterium Engineers or SCA Appraisal Services?
    Criterium Engineers: $75,380 – $174,160 (2026 FDD · Item 7); SCA Appraisal Services: $27,300 – $79,950 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 13). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for SCA Appraisal Services. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Criterium Engineers and SCA Appraisal Services royalties compare?
    Criterium Engineers: 4.5% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13); SCA Appraisal Services: 50% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 9). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Criterium Engineers or SCA Appraisal Services?
    Criterium Engineers: 30 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 66); SCA Appraisal Services: 82 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 50). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Criterium Engineers and SCA Appraisal Services disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Criterium Engineers has reviewed Item 19 figures for 3 location groups; SCA Appraisal Services has reviewed Item 19 figures for 71 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching