
Criterium Engineers
Franchise research report · reviewed 2026 disclosure data
Researching Criterium Engineers franchise opportunities? Every figure below is cited to the FDD.
Criterium Engineers franchise specializes in property inspection and engineering services, offering technical expertise for residential and commercial real esta
Headline figures
Criterium Engineers quick facts
- Is Criterium Engineers a franchise?
- Yes. Criterium Engineers offers franchises through a Franchise Disclosure Document. At the end of 2025, it reported 29 franchised and 1 company-owned outlets (2026 FDD, Item 20, PDF p. 66).
- How much does it cost to open a Criterium Engineers franchise?
- The Criterium Engineers Franchise Disclosure Document reports separate estimated initial investments by format: $75,380–$174,160 for total estimated initial investment low (2026 FDD, Item 7, PDF p. 21); $174,160 for total estimated initial investment high (2026 FDD, Item 7, PDF p. 21); $76,380–$174,160 for total initial investment range (2025 FDD, Item 7, PDF p. 22). These formats are not combined. Each is the franchisor's disclosed estimate, not a quote. Details
- What ongoing fees does Criterium Engineers charge?
- The disclosed ongoing royalty is 4.5% (2026 FDD, Item 6, PDF p. 13). The brand or advertising fund contribution is $50 (2026 FDD, Item 6, PDF p. 13). Other recurring fees are listed in Item 6. Details
- Does Criterium Engineers disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
- Yes. The Criterium Engineers FDD includes an Item 19 financial performance representation (2026 FDD, Item 19, PDF p. 63). Figures apply only to the locations and period each one covers. Details
- How many Criterium Engineers locations are there?
- The FDD reports 30 outlets at the end of 2025 (2026 FDD, Item 20, PDF p. 66). Existing locations do not indicate territory availability. Details
- Is Criterium Engineers a good franchise to buy?
- Franopolis does not rate or recommend franchises. From the reviewed FDD: Item 19 includes financial performance figures; check which locations and period they cover; Item 20 lists outlet openings, closures and transfers; Item 6 includes a brand or advertising fund contribution on top of royalty; Item 20 also lists current and former franchisees you can contact. Review the full FDD with a franchise attorney and accountant before deciding.
From reviewed FDD figures only. Not a recommendation or projection.
What the disclosures show
- 1The 2026 FDD (Item 7) estimates opening costs separately by format: $75,380 – $174,160 (Total estimated initial investment low); $174,160 (Total estimated initial investment high); several initial fee options apply.
- 2Item 19 covers 3 separate groups: other measures for 32 Franchised offices locations; other measures for 33 Franchised offices locations; other measures for New CRITERIUM System franchise offices locations. They are not combined.
- 3Outlets declined by 2 in 2025, to 30 (United States, as labeled in the FDD, Item 20).
From reviewed FDD figures only. Not a recommendation or projection.
Criterium Engineers head-to-head
Closest peers in the same subcategory, side by side from reviewed FDD figures. Not a ranking or recommendation.
Costs · Items 5–7
What does it cost to open?
Estimated opening costs and the fees payable to the franchisor.
Startup Investment — Item 7
Range across 2 single-unit formats
2026 FDD · Item 7
Formats disclosed in Item 7 (2)
Each format has its own total. The total depends on the format you choose.
- Total estimated initial investment lowPDF p. 21$75,380 – $174,160
- Total estimated initial investment highPDF p. 21$174,160
Ongoing Fees — Item 6
Selected recurring charges; payment bases and conditions remain attached to each fee.
- Royalty rate over $1,000,000Main ongoing fee
25 reported fees, each with its payment basis, are listed below; they haven't been sorted into recurring, initial and occasional groups yet.
Financial Performance — Item 19
What results are disclosed—and for which locations?
3 separate populations, shown apart. Revenue is not owner income.
32 locations
Other measures · 32 locations
- Who is counted
- Franchisee offices operating at least one Affiliate office location for at least twelve months as of December 31, 2025
- Excluded
- New franchise offices without 12 months of receipts in a given year and offices reporting only partial-year revenue
- Method
- Historical annual revenue reported by franchisees; quartile groups rank locations by annual revenue
33 locations
Other measures · 33 locations
- Who is counted
- Franchisee offices operating at least one Affiliate office location for at least twelve months as of December 31, 2025
- Excluded
- New franchise offices without 12 months of receipts in a given year and offices reporting only partial-year revenue
- Method
- Historical annual revenue reported by franchisees; quartile groups rank locations by annual revenue
Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — New offices opened in the last ten years; transfers of existing offices excluded
Other measures
- Who is counted
- New offices opened in the last ten years; transfers of existing offices excluded
- Excluded
- Incomplete 12-month years; table groups include an office only where it has complete data for the 12-month segment
- Method
- Historical annual revenue for newly opened offices in the last ten years; full 12-month periods only
These groups are never combined.
Outlet Changes — Item 20
How has the outlet count changed?
United States, as labeled in the FDD · counts as of 2025-12-31 of each year.
2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 66
Net −1 outlets, 2022–2025
Year-end counts reported in Item 20. The scale starts at zero, so the line looks nearly flat; the labels between the dots show each year's change. Openings and closures for 2025 haven't been pulled from the Item 20 tables yet, so no turnover or churn is shown.
Questions to investigate
Prompts based on what this brand's reviewed disclosures do and don't show — not conclusions. Join free as a member to save questions to your research.
For the franchisor
Which line items in the 2026 Item 7 estimate ($75,380 – $174,160) vary most by market, and why?
Which initial fee option would apply to my situation, and what conditions or discounts affect it?
Which locations are included in the Item 19 figures, and which were excluded?
Reported units decreased from 32 to 30 in 2025. What drove the change?
Is a territory available in my area, and how is it defined in my agreement?
For current and former owners
How did your actual startup costs and timeline compare with the Item 7 estimate?
How many hours a week do you work in the business, and in what role?
How do your results compare with the Item 19 figures, and what explains the difference?
What support from the franchisor has been most and least useful?
For your advisors
Ask a franchise attorney to review the territory, renewal, transfer and termination terms.
Ask an accountant to build a cash-flow plan using your own assumptions, not the franchisor's.
Sources & vintage history
Every displayed fact is retained with its disclosure vintage, item, page, and reviewed status. Prior vintages remain on file rather than being overwritten.
Citations (2026 FDD)
- [1]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchisee offices operating at least one Affiliate office location for at leas… · PDF p. 63; PDF p. 64; PDF p. 65
- [2]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchisee offices operating at least one Affiliate office location for at leas… · PDF p. 64
- [3]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — New offices opened in the last ten years; transfers of existing offices excluded · PDF p. 65
- [4]Outlet counts — Item 20, Table 1 · PDF p. 66
"PDF p." is the page in the PDF file; "printed p." is the number printed on the FDD page. Source document: FDD
Territory & operations
These are contract disclosures, not confirmation that any territory is currently available.
Legal & agreement
Franchisor financial statements
| Fiscal year | Measure | Reported value |
|---|---|---|
| 2024 | accumulated depreciationMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing | -$556,976 |
| 2024 | net incomeMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing | $327,226 |
| 2024 | depreciation and amortizationMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing | $113,663 |
| 2024 | bad debt expenseMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing | $34,785 |
| 2024 | loss on disposal of fixed assets | $7,459 |
| 2024 | decrease | -$242,789 |
| 2024 | net cash provided by operating activities | $326,728 |
| 2024 | purchase of fixed assets | -$44,439 |
| 2024 | net cash used in investing activities | -$44,439 |
| 2024 | principal payments on long-term debt | -$70,190 |
| 2024 | distributionsMore than one value recorded for this year — open the FDD source before comparing | -$212,936 |
| 2024 | prepaid expenses and other | $44,679 |
These figures describe the franchisor company, not individual franchise locations.
What changed from 2025 to 2026
- Franchise fee: $13,625 → $54,500
- System size: 64 → 30 units
SBA-backed loans to franchisees
Loading…
Source: U.S. Small Business Administration 7(a) & 504 FOIA data. Loan volume is not a measure of franchisee success.
At a glance
Business history
Not reviewed
Owner participation
Not reviewed
Territory language
Litigation disclosure
Not reviewed
Bankruptcy disclosure
Not reviewed
Agreement term
Not reviewed
Independent analysis of franchisor-provided data. Not investment advice. Franopolis does not distribute FDDs.
Compare Criterium Engineers with…
VSCompare Criterium Engineers with…
VS

