Franchise opportunities compared
Donatos Pizza vs Five Guys
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
- Donatos Pizza and Five Guys disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Only Donatos Pizza has reviewed Item 19 figures here.
| Disclosure | Donatos Pizza | FGFive Guys |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $546,637 – $1,090,537 2026 FDD · Item 7 | $52,100 – $927,850 2026 FDD · Item 7 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | Not available No single standard fee identified | $25,000 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 15 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | Not available No reviewed royalty record | $8.00 s. If the Restaurant is located in Alaska, Hawaii or Puerto Rico, the Royalty Fee is — 8% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | $1.00 Nationalmarketingcurrent NetSales 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18 | $250 , depending on your advertising needs When billed Prohibited Product or Service Fine — 250 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 179 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 79 | 3,166 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 54 |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | −75 Calculated: 254 at end of 2023 → 179 at end of 2025 | +124 Calculated: 3,042 at end of 2023 → 3,166 at end of 2025 |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | 1991 From a verified franchisor listing | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All covered $2,492,132 other All covered High · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 73 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Company-owned $2,384,141 other Company-owned High · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 73 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchise-owned $2,476,922 other Franchise-owned High · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 74 +8 more groups in the full report | Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
