Franchise opportunities compared

    Fresh Coat vs Painter1

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Fresh Coat

    $86,150 – $125,250

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 16

    Painter1

    $80,270

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 18

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Fresh Coat

    $54,900

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 11

    Painter1

    $54,500

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 8

    Royalty · Item 6

    Fresh Coat

    4% · Percentage of Gross Revenues; $500 monthly minimum for first 12 months and $1,000 monthly minimum thereafter

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12

    Painter1

    7% of monthly Gross Sales; $700 monthly minimum

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 10

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Fresh Coat: 1, Painter1: 1). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Fresh Coat

    $86,150 – $125,250
    Total
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 16

    Painter1

    $80,270
    TOTAL
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 18
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Fresh Coat

    $54,900
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 11

    Painter1

    $54,500
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 8
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Fresh Coat

    4% · Percentage of Gross Revenues; $500 monthly minimum for first 12 months and $1,000 monthly minimum thereafter
    Royalty fee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12

    Painter1

    7% of monthly Gross Sales; $700 monthly minimum
    Royalty Fee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 10
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Fresh Coat

    2% of percentage of gross revenues; $350 monthly minimum
    National Branding Fund
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13

    Painter1

    $250/mo
    Website and Digital Advertising — Per month
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Fresh Coat

    182
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 37

    Painter1

    45
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 52
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Fresh Coat

    +8
    Calculated: 174 at end of 2023 → 182 at end of 2025

    Painter1

    +7
    Calculated: 38 at end of 2023 → 45 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Fresh Coat

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Painter1

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Fresh Coat

    2005
    2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 8

    Painter1

    2016
    2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 6
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Fresh Coat

    2005
    2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 8

    Painter1

    2015
    2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 6

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Fresh Coat
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record
    $751,964
    other Gross Revenues
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 35
    Painter1
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record
    $413,741
    mean Annual Gross Sales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 49

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Fresh Coat vs Painter1: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Fresh Coat or Painter1?
    Fresh Coat: $86,150 – $125,250 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 16); Painter1: $80,270 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 18). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Painter1. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Fresh Coat and Painter1 royalties compare?
    Fresh Coat: 4% · Percentage of Gross Revenues; $500 monthly minimum for first 12 months and $1,000 monthly minimum thereafter (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12); Painter1: 7% of monthly Gross Sales; $700 monthly minimum (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 10). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Fresh Coat or Painter1?
    Fresh Coat: 182 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 37); Painter1: 45 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 52). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Fresh Coat and Painter1 disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Fresh Coat has reviewed Item 19 figures for 1 location group; Painter1 has reviewed Item 19 figures for 1 location group. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching