Franchise opportunities compared

    Kona Ice Business(es) vs Wetzels Pretzels

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Kona Ice Business(es)

    $114,730 – $228,601

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 27

    Wetzels Pretzels

    $147,000 – $172,125

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Kona Ice Business(es)

    $15,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12

    Wetzels Pretzels

    Not available

    Royalty · Item 6

    Kona Ice Business(es)

    $3,000

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14

    Wetzels Pretzels

    6%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 33

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Wetzels Pretzels discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Only Wetzels Pretzels has reviewed Item 19 figures here.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Kona Ice Business(es)

    $114,730 – $228,601
    Total estimated initial investment range
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 27

    Wetzels Pretzels

    $147,000 – $172,125
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Kona Ice Business(es)

    $15,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12

    Wetzels Pretzels

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Kona Ice Business(es)

    $3,000
    Royalty — years one and two
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14

    Wetzels Pretzels

    6%
    et-Front Bakery located within a Walmart location, the Royalty Fee may be reduced to — 6%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 33
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Kona Ice Business(es)

    $1,000
    Brand Fund contribution
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 15

    Wetzels Pretzels

    1%
    he Manual. See note 2. Advertising Fund Contributions For a Non-Street-Front Bakery, — 1% — 1%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 33

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Kona Ice Business(es)

    1,933
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 59

    Wetzels Pretzels

    458
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 87
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Kona Ice Business(es)

    +263
    Calculated: 1,670 at end of 2023 → 1,933 at end of 2025

    Wetzels Pretzels

    +71
    Calculated: 387 at end of 2023 → 458 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Kona Ice Business(es)

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Wetzels Pretzels

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Kona Ice Business(es)

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Wetzels Pretzels

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Kona Ice Business(es)

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Wetzels Pretzels

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    KIKona Ice Business(es)

    No reviewed Item 19 figures

    Wetzels Pretzels
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Mall stores without RMU
    $837,216
    other ZELS Bakeries that operate without an RMU achieve Average Adjusted Gross Revenues of
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 83
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — NTO/transit
    $562,792
    other Adj. Gross Revenues
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 82
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Concession truck/trailer
    43 percent
    other % of WETZEL’S PRETZELS Bakeries at or Above Average
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 82
    +7 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Kona Ice Business(es) vs Wetzels Pretzels: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Kona Ice Business(es) or Wetzels Pretzels?
    Kona Ice Business(es): $114,730 – $228,601 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 27); Wetzels Pretzels: $147,000 – $172,125 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Kona Ice Business(es). At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Kona Ice Business(es) and Wetzels Pretzels royalties compare?
    Kona Ice Business(es): $3,000 (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14); Wetzels Pretzels: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 33). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Kona Ice Business(es) or Wetzels Pretzels?
    Kona Ice Business(es): 1,933 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 59); Wetzels Pretzels: 458 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 87). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Kona Ice Business(es) and Wetzels Pretzels disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Kona Ice Business(es) has no reviewed Item 19 figures on file; Wetzels Pretzels has reviewed Item 19 figures for 10 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching