Franchise opportunities compared
Magnolia Bakery International vs Sugar Llamas Enterprises
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Magnolia Bakery International figures come from its 2026 FDD and Sugar Llamas Enterprises figures from its 2024 FDD, so the years differ.
- Magnolia Bakery International discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Only Magnolia Bakery International has reviewed Item 19 figures here.
| Disclosure | Magnolia Bakery International | Sugar Llamas Enterprises |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $499,700 – $1,276,270 2026 FDD · Item 7 | $252,400 – $368,200 Total estimated initial investment 2024 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 17 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | $29,500 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 11 | $30,000 2024 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 10 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 6% Royalty 6% — 6% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12 | 5% Royalty fee rate 2024 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | 3% Marketing Fund — 3% — 3% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12 | 0.5% Brand development fee — 0.5% 2024 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 11 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 51 | Not available No reviewed outlet counts |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | +1 Calculated: 10 at end of 2023 → 11 at end of 2025 | Not available Only one year reported |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — TenUSaffiliatedBakeries:8FullBake/2NoBake 5 units other TenaffiliateBakeries · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 45 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — TenUSaffiliatedBakeries:8FullBake/2NoBake Morning7am–12pm 107 transactions other Morning7am–12pm · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 47 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — TenUSaffiliatedBakeries:8FullBake/2NoBake Midday12pm–5pm $5,137 other Midday12pm–5pm · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 47 +12 more groups in the full report | Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
Magnolia Bakery International vs Sugar Llamas Enterprises: common questions
- Which costs less to open, Magnolia Bakery International or Sugar Llamas Enterprises?
- Magnolia Bakery International: $499,700 – $1,276,270 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Sugar Llamas Enterprises: $252,400 – $368,200 (2024 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 17). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Sugar Llamas Enterprises. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
- How do Magnolia Bakery International and Sugar Llamas Enterprises royalties compare?
- Magnolia Bakery International: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12); Sugar Llamas Enterprises: 5% (2024 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
- Do Magnolia Bakery International and Sugar Llamas Enterprises disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
- Magnolia Bakery International has reviewed Item 19 figures for 15 location groups; Sugar Llamas Enterprises makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.
Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

