Franchise opportunities compared

    Magnolia Bakery International vs TCBY

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Magnolia Bakery International and TCBY disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Magnolia Bakery International: 15, TCBY: 60). Different groups are not directly comparable.
    DisclosureMagnolia Bakery InternationalTTCBY
    Financial commitment
    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)
    $499,700 – $1,276,270
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    $133,400 – $485,630
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)
    $29,500
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 11
    $5,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12
    Royalty (Item 6)
    6%
    Royalty 6% — 6%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12
    6%
    Weekly royalty andbrandfund — 6%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)
    3%
    Marketing Fund — 3% — 3%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12
    Not available
    No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee
    System scale & health
    Total outlets (Item 20)
    11
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 51
    Not available
    No reviewed outlet counts
    Net outlet change (Item 20)
    +1
    Calculated: 10 at end of 2023 → 11 at end of 2025
    Not available
    Only one year reported
    Outlet exits (Item 20)
    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Performance (Item 19)
    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — TenUSaffiliatedBakeries:8FullBake/2NoBake
    5 units
    other TenaffiliateBakeries · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 45
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — TenUSaffiliatedBakeries:8FullBake/2NoBake Morning7am–12pm
    107 transactions
    other Morning7am–12pm · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 47
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — TenUSaffiliatedBakeries:8FullBake/2NoBake Midday12pm–5pm
    $5,137
    other Midday12pm–5pm · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 47
    +12 more groups in the full report
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Table1 Second
    $484,217
    other Table1 Second Average revenue · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 39
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Table1 Third
    $278,334
    other Table1 Third Low · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 39
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Table1 Total
    $1,495,071
    other Table1 Total High · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 39
    +57 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Magnolia Bakery International vs TCBY: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Magnolia Bakery International or TCBY?
    Magnolia Bakery International: $499,700 – $1,276,270 (2026 FDD · Item 7); TCBY: $133,400 – $485,630 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for TCBY. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Magnolia Bakery International and TCBY royalties compare?
    Magnolia Bakery International: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12); TCBY: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Do Magnolia Bakery International and TCBY disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Magnolia Bakery International has reviewed Item 19 figures for 15 location groups; TCBY has reviewed Item 19 figures for 60 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures