Franchise opportunities compared
Snooze Mattress Company vs Southern Steer
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Snooze Mattress Company figures come from its 2025 FDD and Southern Steer figures from its 2026 FDD, so the years differ.
- Snooze Mattress Company discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Snooze Mattress Company: 1, Southern Steer: 8). Different groups are not directly comparable.
| Disclosure | ||
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $302,200 – $859,600 2025 FDD · Item 7 | $376,223 ,000 $50,000 As Incurred As Incurred Landlord, Suppliers and Utilities Total ( 1 8 ) — 376223 2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 17 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | Not available No single standard fee identified | $59,500 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 10 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 5% Royalty fee 2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11 | 1 3 ) — 250 on to the Royalty Fee and Brand Fund Contribution, if any. Liquidated Damages 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | 2% System brand fee — 2% 2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11 | 2% of 3) — 2% on each individual Southern Steer Business You operate . Brand Fund Contribution 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | Not available No reviewed outlet counts | 18 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 57 |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | Not available Only one year reported | +10 Calculated: 8 at end of 2023 → 18 at end of 2025 |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record $100,643 other Gross revenues · 2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 66 | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — St. Petersburg 0.7 percent other St. Petersburg · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 53 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Clearwater Florida 44 percent other Clearwater · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 50 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Ocoee $13,452 other Ocoee · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 53 +5 more groups in the full report |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
Snooze Mattress Company vs Southern Steer: common questions
- Which costs less to open, Snooze Mattress Company or Southern Steer?
- Snooze Mattress Company: $302,200 – $859,600 (2025 FDD · Item 7); Southern Steer: $376,223 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 17). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Snooze Mattress Company. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
- How do Snooze Mattress Company and Southern Steer royalties compare?
- Snooze Mattress Company: 5% (2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11); Southern Steer: 1 3 ) — 250 (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
- Do Snooze Mattress Company and Southern Steer disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
- Snooze Mattress Company has reviewed Item 19 figures for 1 location group; Southern Steer has reviewed Item 19 figures for 8 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.
Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.