Franchise opportunities compared

    traditional vs Verlo Mattress

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • traditional and Verlo Mattress disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (traditional: 5, Verlo Mattress: 1). Different groups are not directly comparable.
    DisclosureTtraditionalVerlo Mattress
    Financial commitment
    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)
    $1,330,000 – $4,841,500
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    $197,611 – $750,926
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)
    Not available
    No single standard fee identified
    $50,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12
    Royalty (Item 6)
    5%
    Royalty
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14
    5%
    Royalty Fee: 5% of monthly Gross Sales
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)
    3%
    Brand Development Fund — 3%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 15
    2.5%
    National Marketing Fund Fee: up to 2½% of monthly Gross Sales — 2.5%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13
    System scale & health
    Total outlets (Item 20)
    161
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 80
    Not available
    No reviewed outlet counts
    Net outlet change (Item 20)
    +0
    Calculated: 161 at end of 2023 → 161 at end of 2025
    Not available
    Only one year reported
    Outlet exits (Item 20)
    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    1989
    From a verified franchisor listing
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Performance (Item 19)
    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All 154 franchised Mellow Mushroom restaurants operating throughout the 2025 Me…
    $154
    other all group · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 78
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Top 25% performing group: 38 franchised restaurants
    $3,039,278
    other top group · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 78
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Bottom group: 38 franchised restaurants in the disclosure's Bottom 25% cohort
    $38
    other bottom group · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 79
    +2 more groups in the full report
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record
    $2,485,612
    other Franchise C aggregate annual sales · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 50

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    traditional vs Verlo Mattress: common questions

    Which costs less to open, traditional or Verlo Mattress?
    traditional: $1,330,000 – $4,841,500 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Verlo Mattress: $197,611 – $750,926 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Verlo Mattress. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do traditional and Verlo Mattress royalties compare?
    traditional: 5% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14); Verlo Mattress: 5% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Do traditional and Verlo Mattress disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    traditional has reviewed Item 19 figures for 5 location groups; Verlo Mattress has reviewed Item 19 figures for 1 location group. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures