AC

    Autism Center of Excellence

    Franchise research report · reviewed 2025 disclosure data

    Researching Autism Center of Excellence franchise opportunities? Every figure below is cited to the FDD.

    Reviewed sources

    Autism Center of Excellence franchises operate behavioral centers focused on autism and developmental differences. The FDD describes a comprehensive service model that combines applied behavior analysis with additional supports at a center.

    Headline figures

    Autism Center of Excellence quick facts

    Is Autism Center of Excellence a franchise?
    Yes. Autism Center of Excellence offers franchises through a Franchise Disclosure Document. At the end of 2024, it reported 0 franchised and 5 company-owned outlets (2025 FDD, Item 20, PDF p. 47).
    How much does it cost to open an Autism Center of Excellence franchise?
    The Autism Center of Excellence Franchise Disclosure Document reports an estimated initial investment of $220,250–$499,000 (2025 FDD, Item 7, PDF p. 18). This is the franchisor's disclosed estimate, not a quote. Details
    What is the Autism Center of Excellence initial franchise fee?
    The disclosed initial franchise fee for a standard single unit is $35,000 (2025 FDD, Item 5, PDF p. 12). Other fee options (for example multi-unit or conversion) are listed separately in the report. Details
    What ongoing fees does Autism Center of Excellence charge?
    The disclosed ongoing royalty is 5% (2025 FDD, Item 6, PDF p. 13). The brand or advertising fund contribution is $500 (2025 FDD, Item 6, PDF p. 13). Other recurring fees are listed in Item 6. Details
    Does Autism Center of Excellence disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Yes. The Autism Center of Excellence FDD includes an Item 19 financial performance representation (2025 FDD, Item 19, PDF p. 46). Figures apply only to the locations and period each one covers. Details
    How many Autism Center of Excellence locations are there?
    The FDD reports 5 outlets at the end of 2024 (2025 FDD, Item 20, PDF p. 47). Existing locations do not indicate territory availability. Details
    Is Autism Center of Excellence a good franchise to buy?
    Franopolis does not rate or recommend franchises. From the reviewed FDD: Item 19 includes financial performance figures; check which locations and period they cover; Item 20 lists outlet openings, closures and transfers; Item 6 includes a brand or advertising fund contribution on top of royalty; Item 20 also lists current and former franchisees you can contact. Review the full FDD with a franchise attorney and accountant before deciding.

    From reviewed FDD figures only. Not a recommendation or projection.

    What the disclosures show

    1. 1Opening costs are estimated at $220,250 – $499,000 in the 2025 FDD (Item 7); several initial fee options apply.
    2. 2Item 19 covers 5 separate groups: other measures for 3 locations; revenue for 3 locations; adjusted operating results for 3 locations; adjusted operating results for 3 locations; other measures for 3 locations. They are not combined.
    3. 3Outlets grew by 4 in 2024, to 5 (Systemwide, as labeled in the FDD, Item 20).

    From reviewed FDD figures only. Not a recommendation or projection.

    Autism Center of Excellence head-to-head

    Closest peers in the same subcategory, side by side from reviewed FDD figures. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    Costs · Items 5–7

    What does it cost to open?

    Estimated opening costs and the fees payable to the franchisor.

    Startup Investment — Item 7

    Total estimated initial investment

    2025 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 18

    Standard single-unit franchise fee

    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12
    Discounted and multi-unit options are separate; see all fees.

    Ongoing Fees — Item 6

    Selected recurring charges; payment bases and conditions remain attached to each fee.

    Royalty — percent of gross salesMain ongoing fee

    19 reported fees, each with its payment basis, are listed below; they haven't been sorted into recurring, initial and occasional groups yet.

    Financial Performance — Item 19

    What results are disclosed—and for which locations?

    5 separate populations, shown apart. Revenue is not owner income.

    3 locations

    Other measures · 3 locations

    Who is counted
    Three company-owned outlets open for the full year of 2024, shown separately by location; this row is Estimated Brand Fund Fees.
    Period
    Fayetteville, NC
    Excluded
    Two other company-owned outlets opened in November and December 2024 and were excluded. Affiliate royalty and brand fund fees are estimates; affiliates do not pay them.
    Method
    Historical financial performance representation; estimated royalty/brand fund fees

    3 locations

    Revenue · 3 locations

    Who is counted
    Three company-owned outlets open for the full year of 2024, shown separately by location; this row is Gross Sales.
    Period
    Fayetteville, NC
    Excluded
    Two other company-owned outlets opened in November and December 2024 and were excluded. Affiliate royalty and brand fund fees are estimates; affiliates do not pay them.
    Method
    Historical financial performance representation; estimated royalty/brand fund fees

    3 locations

    Adjusted operating results · 3 locations

    Adjusted company-owned results: the franchisor adjusted these centers' expenses to estimate franchisee costs. They are not observed franchisee results or owner take-home income.

    Who is counted
    Three company-owned outlets open for the full year of 2024, shown separately by location; this row is Cost of Goods Sold.
    Period
    Fayetteville, NC
    Excluded
    Two other company-owned outlets opened in November and December 2024 and were excluded. Affiliate royalty and brand fund fees are estimates; affiliates do not pay them.
    Method
    Historical financial performance representation; estimated royalty/brand fund fees

    3 locations

    Adjusted operating results · 3 locations

    Adjusted company-owned results: the franchisor adjusted these centers' expenses to estimate franchisee costs. They are not observed franchisee results or owner take-home income.

    Who is counted
    Three company-owned outlets open for the full year of 2024, shown separately by location; this row is Gross Profit.
    Period
    Fayetteville, NC
    Excluded
    Two other company-owned outlets opened in November and December 2024 and were excluded. Affiliate royalty and brand fund fees are estimates; affiliates do not pay them.
    Method
    Historical financial performance representation; estimated royalty/brand fund fees

    3 locations

    Other measures · 3 locations

    Who is counted
    Three company-owned outlets open for the full year of 2024, shown separately by location; this row is Estimated Royalty Fees.
    Period
    Fayetteville, NC
    Excluded
    Two other company-owned outlets opened in November and December 2024 and were excluded. Affiliate royalty and brand fund fees are estimates; affiliates do not pay them.
    Method
    Historical financial performance representation; estimated royalty/brand fund fees

    These groups are never combined. Adjusted company-owned operating results cannot be divided by franchised revenue to calculate a franchisee profit margin.

    Outlet Changes — Item 20

    How has the outlet count changed?

    Systemwide, as labeled in the FDD · counts as of End of 2024 of each year.

    2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 47

    Net +5 outlets, 2022–2024

    0020221202352024+1+4

    Year-end counts reported in Item 20. The scale starts at zero; the labels between the dots show each year's change. Openings and closures for 2024 haven't been pulled from the Item 20 tables yet, so no turnover or churn is shown.

    Questions to investigate

    Prompts based on what this brand's reviewed disclosures do and don't show — not conclusions. Join free as a member to save questions to your research.

    For the franchisor

    • Which line items in the 2025 Item 7 estimate ($220,250 – $499,000) vary most by market, and why?

    • Which initial fee option would apply to my situation, and what conditions or discounts affect it?

    • Which locations are included in the Item 19 figures, and which were excluded?

    • Reported units went from 1 to 5 in 2024. How many new units opened, closed or changed hands?

    • Is a territory available in my area, and how is it defined in my agreement?

    For current and former owners

    • How did your actual startup costs and timeline compare with the Item 7 estimate?

    • How many hours a week do you work in the business, and in what role?

    • How do your results compare with the Item 19 figures, and what explains the difference?

    • What support from the franchisor has been most and least useful?

    For your advisors

    • Ask a franchise attorney to review the territory, renewal, transfer and termination terms.

    • Ask an accountant to build a cash-flow plan using your own assumptions, not the franchisor's.

    Sources & vintage history

    Every displayed fact is retained with its disclosure vintage, item, page, and reviewed status. Prior vintages remain on file rather than being overwritten.

    Citations (2025 FDD)

    1. [1]Estimated initial investment — Item 7 · PDF p. 18
    2. [2]Standard initial franchise fee — Item 5 · PDF p. 12
    3. [3]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Three company-owned outlets open for the full year of 2024, shown separately by… · PDF p. 46
    4. [4]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Three company-owned outlets open for the full year of 2024, shown separately by… · PDF p. 46
    5. [5]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Three company-owned outlets open for the full year of 2024, shown separately by… · PDF p. 46
    6. [6]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Three company-owned outlets open for the full year of 2024, shown separately by… · PDF p. 46
    7. [7]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Three company-owned outlets open for the full year of 2024, shown separately by… · PDF p. 46
    8. [8]Outlet counts — Item 20, Table 1 · PDF p. 47

    "PDF p." is the page in the PDF file; "printed p." is the number printed on the FDD page.

    Territory & operations

    These are contract disclosures, not confirmation that any territory is currently available.

    Franchisor financial statements

    No verified franchisor financial statement figures have been reviewed yet.

    SBA-backed loans to franchisees

    Loading…

    Source: U.S. Small Business Administration 7(a) & 504 FOIA data. Loan volume is not a measure of franchisee success.

    At a glance

    Business history

    Not reviewed

    Owner participation

    Not reviewed

    Territory language

    Litigation disclosure

    Not reviewed

    Bankruptcy disclosure

    Not reviewed

    Agreement term

    Not reviewed

    Reader notes on wording

    Our automated check found that these summaries may not match the FDD's exact wording. Read the FDD excerpt itself; it is the authoritative text. Core cost, fee, Item 19 and outlet figures are not affected.

    • Item 5 · PDF p. 13 · 2025 FDD

      Our summary: Initial membership fee — Marketing Fund

      “At the time of signing your Franchise Agreement, you must also pay $500 to the Exit Factor Advertising Fund, Inc. (the “Marketing Fund”) as an initial membership fee.”

      Note: The cited quote could not be located on the cited FDD page.

    • Item 6 · PDF p. 14 · 2025 FDD

      Our summary: Non-compliance fee — initial violation

      “$500 for the first violation, and $250 per violation thereafter.”

      Note: The cited quote could not be located on the cited FDD page.

    • Item 7 · PDF p. 18 · 2025 FDD

      Our summary: Additional funds for first three months

      “Additional funds (for first 3 months) $50,000 - $75,000 Varies Varies Employee/team members, suppliers, utilities”

      Note: The cited quote could not be located on the cited FDD page.

    • Item 7 · PDF p. 18 · 2025 FDD

      Our summary: Professional fees

      “Professional Fees (lawyer, accountant, etc.) $1,000 - $3,000 Check, debit, and/or credit As incurred or when billed Professional service firms”

      Note: The cited quote could not be located on the cited FDD page.

    • Item 12 · PDF p. 35 · 2025 FDD

      Our summary: Exclusive territory: Yes — with no sales-volume contingency; territory described by approximately 200,000 people or a 5-mile radius, whichever is greater

      “Your territory will have a population of approximately 200,000 people from the location or a 5 mile radius, whichever is greater. Your territory will usually be specified as a radius around your location; however, we may use other boundaries (such as Zip codes, county lines, or other political boundaries, streets, geographical features, or trade area). In your territory, we will not establish either a company-owned or franchised outlet selling the same or similar goods or services under the same or similar trademarks or service marks as an Autism Center of Excellence outlet. The continuation of your territorial protection does not depend on achieving a certain sales volume, market penetration, or other contingency.”

      Note: Supplied quote could not be confirmed on the cited PDF page excerpt.

    • Item 20 · PDF p. 47 · 2025 FDD

      Our summary: Company-Owned 2023: 0 → 1

      “Company - Owned 2023 0 1 +1”

      Note: The cited page does not establish the Table 1 systemwide start/end row.

    • Item 20 · PDF p. 47 · 2025 FDD

      Our summary: Franchised 2023: 0 → 0

      “Franchised 2023 0 0 0”

      Note: The cited page does not establish the Table 1 systemwide start/end row.

    • Item 20 · PDF p. 47 · 2025 FDD

      Our summary: Company-Owned 2024: 1 → 5

      “Company - Owned 2024 1 5 +4”

      Note: The cited page does not establish the Table 1 systemwide start/end row.

    • Item 20 · PDF p. 47 · 2025 FDD

      Our summary: Franchised 2024: 0 → 0

      “Franchised 2024 0 0 0”

      Note: The cited page does not establish the Table 1 systemwide start/end row.

    Independent analysis of franchisor-provided data. Not investment advice. Franopolis does not distribute FDDs.

    Compare Autism Center of Excellence with…

    ACVS