
Pool Scouts
Pool Scouts Franchising, LLC · reviewed 2026 disclosure data
Researching Pool Scouts franchise opportunities? Every figure below is cited to the FDD.
- Franchising since
- 2016 Source: franchise.org
- Headquarters
- Virginia Beach, VA United States Source: franchise.org
Pool Scouts franchise specializes in residential and commercial pool cleaning and maintenance services, building a customer base through recurring service contr
Headline figures
Pool Scouts quick facts
- Is Pool Scouts a franchise?
- Yes. Pool Scouts offers franchises through a Franchise Disclosure Document. At the end of 2025, it reported 73 outlets in total (2026 FDD, Item 20, PDF p. 71).
- How much does it cost to open a Pool Scouts franchise?
- The Pool Scouts Franchise Disclosure Document reports an estimated initial investment of $96,662–$133,787 (2026 FDD, Item 7, PDF p. 24). This is the franchisor's disclosed estimate, not a quote. Details
- What is the Pool Scouts initial franchise fee?
- The disclosed initial franchise fee for a standard single unit is $50,000 (2026 FDD, Item 5, PDF p. 14). Other fee options (for example multi-unit or conversion) are listed separately in the report. Details
- What ongoing fees does Pool Scouts charge?
- The disclosed ongoing royalty is 8% of Net Revenue (2026 FDD, Item 6, PDF p. 18). The brand or advertising fund contribution is 2% · percent of Net Revenue (2026 FDD, Item 6, PDF p. 18). Other recurring fees are listed in Item 6. Details
- Does Pool Scouts disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
- Yes. The Pool Scouts FDD includes an Item 19 financial performance representation (2026 FDD, Item 19, PDF p. 61). Figures apply only to the locations and period each one covers. Details
- How many Pool Scouts locations are there?
- The FDD reports 73 outlets at the end of 2025 (2026 FDD, Item 20, PDF p. 71). Existing locations do not indicate territory availability. Details
- Is Pool Scouts a good franchise to buy?
- Franopolis does not rate or recommend franchises. From the reviewed FDD: Item 19 includes financial performance figures; check which locations and period they cover; Item 20 lists outlet openings, closures and transfers; Item 6 includes a brand or advertising fund contribution on top of royalty; Item 20 also lists current and former franchisees you can contact. Review the full FDD with a franchise attorney and accountant before deciding.
From reviewed FDD figures only. Not a recommendation or projection.
What the disclosures show
- 1Opening costs are estimated at $96,662 – $133,787 in the 2026 FDD (Item 7); several initial fee options apply.
- 2Item 19 covers 3 separate groups: revenue and memberships for 71 franchised outlets; revenue for locations; adjusted operating results for locations. They are not combined.
- 3Outlets declined by 1 in 2025, to 73 (Systemwide, as labeled in the FDD, Item 20).
From reviewed FDD figures only. Not a recommendation or projection.
Pool Scouts head-to-head
Closest peers in the same subcategory, side by side from reviewed FDD figures. Not a ranking or recommendation.
Costs · Items 5–7
What does it cost to open?
Estimated opening costs and the fees payable to the franchisor.
Startup Investment — Item 7
Total estimated initial investment
2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 24
Standard single-unit franchise fee
2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 14
Discounted and multi-unit options are separate; see all fees.
Ongoing Fees — Item 6
Selected recurring charges; payment bases and conditions remain attached to each fee.
- Royalty and Service FeeMain ongoing fee · The fee pays for use of the Marks, System, Territory, Manuals, marketing administration, and other support services.
24 reported fees, each with its payment basis, are listed below; they haven't been sorted into recurring, initial and occasional groups yet.
Financial Performance — Item 19
What results are disclosed—and for which locations?
3 separate populations, shown apart. Revenue is not owner income.
Franchised locations
Revenue and memberships · 71 locations
- Who is counted
- all of the 71 outlets open in calendar year 2025, regardless of the number of months operating or non-continuous operation status
- Period
- 2025
- Excluded
- regardless of the number of months operating or non-continuous operation status
Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — PS Local Operations
Revenue
- Who is counted
- PS Local Operations
- Period
- 2025
- Method
- Based on Pool Scouts CRM data for PS Local Operations.
Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — PS Local Operations’ two territories, VA-001 and VA-002
Adjusted operating results
Adjusted company-owned results: the franchisor adjusted these centers' expenses to estimate franchisee costs. They are not observed franchisee results or owner take-home income.
- Who is counted
- PS Local Operations’ two territories, VA-001 and VA-002
- Period
- January 1-December 31, 2025
- Method
- as adjusted in accordance with the notes below Table 1
These groups are never combined. Adjusted company-owned operating results cannot be divided by franchised revenue to calculate a franchisee profit margin.
Outlet Changes — Item 20
How has the outlet count changed?
Systemwide, as labeled in the FDD · counts as of year end of each year.
2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 71
Net −9 outlets, 2023–2025
Year-end counts reported in Item 20. The scale starts at zero; the labels between the dots show each year's change. Openings and closures for 2025 haven't been pulled from the Item 20 tables yet, so no turnover or churn is shown.
Questions to investigate
Prompts based on what this brand's reviewed disclosures do and don't show — not conclusions. Join free as a member to save questions to your research.
For the franchisor
Which line items in the 2026 Item 7 estimate ($96,662 – $133,787) vary most by market, and why?
Which initial fee option would apply to my situation, and what conditions or discounts affect it?
Which locations are included in the Item 19 figures, and which were excluded?
Reported units decreased from 74 to 73 in 2025. What drove the change?
Is a territory available in my area, and how is it defined in my agreement?
For current and former owners
How did your actual startup costs and timeline compare with the Item 7 estimate?
How many hours a week do you work in the business, and in what role?
How do your results compare with the Item 19 figures, and what explains the difference?
What support from the franchisor has been most and least useful?
For your advisors
Ask a franchise attorney to review the territory, renewal, transfer and termination terms.
Ask an accountant to build a cash-flow plan using your own assumptions, not the franchisor's.
Sources & vintage history
Every displayed fact is retained with its disclosure vintage, item, page, and reviewed status. Prior vintages remain on file rather than being overwritten.
Citations (2026 FDD)
- [1]Estimated initial investment — Item 7 · PDF p. 24
- [2]Standard initial franchise fee — Item 5 · PDF p. 14
- [3]Item 19 — Franchised (71 outlets) — revenue and memberships · PDF p. 70
- [4]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — PS Local Operations · PDF p. 61
- [5]Item 19 — Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — PS Local Operations’ two territories, VA-001 and VA-002 · PDF p. 57; PDF p. 58
- [6]Outlet counts — Item 20, Table 1 · PDF p. 71
"PDF p." is the page in the PDF file; "printed p." is the number printed on the FDD page. Source document: FDD
Territory & operations
46 addresses in Franopolis's imported location list. Coverage may differ from Item 20 outlet counts.
These are contract disclosures, not confirmation that any territory is currently available.
Legal & agreement
Bankruptcy disclosed
Initial term
Franchisor financial statements
No verified franchisor financial statement figures have been reviewed yet.
SBA-backed loans to franchisees
Loading…
Source: U.S. Small Business Administration 7(a) & 504 FOIA data. Loan volume is not a measure of franchisee success.
At a glance
Business history
Owner participation
Territory language
Litigation disclosure
Not reviewed
Bankruptcy disclosure
Agreement term
Reader notes on wording
Our automated check found that these summaries may not match the FDD's exact wording. Read the FDD excerpt itself; it is the authoritative text. Core cost, fee, Item 19 and outlet figures are not affected.
Item 1 · PDF p. 8 · 2026 FDD
Our summary: Business description: Offers franchises and operates businesses providing services and equipment to residential and commercial customers to clean and maintain swimming pools and spas.
“We were organized for the purpose of offering franchises and operating businesses that provide services and equipment to both residential and commercial customers to clean and maintain swimming pools (“ Franchised Business ”).”
Note: Source states swimming pools only; it does not mention spas.
Item 3 · PDF p. 14 · 2026 FDD
Our summary: Total disclosed litigation cases: 2
“Other than these actions, no litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.”
Note: Source says no litigation other than these actions; it does not expressly state total two.
Item 8 · PDF p. 31 · 2026 FDD
Our summary: Required initial purchases and leases percentage: 70% to 80% of total purchases and leases
“We estimate that required initial purchases and leases will be 70% to 80%... of the total purchases and leases you will make in establishing and operating your franchised business.”
Note: Source excerpt does not state the 70% to 80% required-purchases percentage.
Item 9 · PDF p. 31 · 2026 FDD
Our summary: Key franchisee obligations: Select and prepare the site; make required purchases and pay fees; complete training and opening requirements; follow standards and the Operations Manual; use approved products and services; maintain insurance; advertise; manage staffing; keep records and permit inspections; comply with laws; and attend required meetings/conventions.
“This table lists your principal obligations under the franchise, area development, and other agreements.”
Note: Source excerpt lists obligations but does not clearly show every claimed obligation.
Item 17 · PDF p. 55 · 2026 FDD
Our summary: Dispute litigation venue: State or federal court in Virginia; generally Virginia Beach, Virginia or federal court nearest the national office in Norfolk, Virginia
“Court of proper jurisdiction in the Commonwealth of Virginia.”
Note: Source states only court of proper jurisdiction in Commonwealth of Virginia; no Virginia Beach or Norfolk venue.
Independent analysis of franchisor-provided data. Not investment advice. Franopolis does not distribute FDDs.



