Franchise opportunities compared

    Anytime Fitness vs Basecamp

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Anytime Fitness

    $539,329 – $905,482

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 26 · printed p. 19

    Basecamp

    $513,073 – $832,511

    2025 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 25

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Anytime Fitness

    $42,500

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 15 · printed p. 8

    Basecamp

    $42,500

    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 15

    Royalty · Item 6

    Anytime Fitness

    $842/mo

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18 · printed p. 11

    Basecamp

    8%

    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18

    Before you compare

    • Anytime Fitness figures come from its 2026 FDD and Basecamp figures from its 2025 FDD, so the years differ.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Anytime Fitness: 2, Basecamp: 3). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Anytime Fitness

    $539,329 – $905,482
    Total
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 26 · printed p. 19

    Basecamp

    $513,073 – $832,511
    TOTAL: $513,073–$832,511
    2025 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 25
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Anytime Fitness

    $42,500
    All portions of the initial franchise fee are nonrefundable.
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 15 · printed p. 8

    Basecamp

    $42,500
    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 15
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Anytime Fitness

    $842/mo
    Monthly Fee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18 · printed p. 11

    Basecamp

    8%
    Royalty fee: 8% of Gross Revenue each month
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Anytime Fitness

    $900/mo
    General Advertising and Marketing Fee — per month per center; may not exceed greater of $900 per month or 3% of Gross Revenue
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18 · printed p. 11

    Basecamp

    2%
    General Advertising and Marketing Fund: currently 2% monthly, maximum 3% — 2%
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Anytime Fitness

    2,282
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 67 · printed p. 60

    Basecamp

    23
    Outlets at end of 2024
    2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 58
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Anytime Fitness

    −28
    Calculated: 2,310 at end of 2023 → 2,282 at end of 2025

    Basecamp

    +9
    Calculated: 14 at end of 2022 → 23 at end of 2024
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Anytime Fitness

    72
    Closures, terminations & non-renewals in 2025 · Calculated turnover 3.1% of outlets at start of year
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 67 · printed p. 60

    Basecamp

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Anytime Fitness

    November 2021
    2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 8

    Basecamp

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Anytime Fitness

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Basecamp

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Anytime Fitness
    Franchised (1,683 locations) — revenue and memberships
    $398,982 per year
    median Total Revenue
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 62 · printed p. 55
    Company-owned (11 locations) — adjusted operating results
    $149,620 per year
    mean Earnings Before Interest, Taxes, Depreciation and Amortization
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 66 · printed p. 59
    BBasecamp
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All franchised Basecamp Fitness studios open and operating for the full 12-mont…
    $426,115
    other Franchised studios
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 16
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All affiliate-owned Basecamp Fitness studios open and operating for the full 12…
    $951,500
    other Affiliate-owned studios
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 17
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — The explicitly reported combined group of franchised and affiliate-owned Baseca…
    $531,192
    other Combined franchise and affiliate-owned studios
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 17

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Anytime Fitness vs Basecamp: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Anytime Fitness or Basecamp?
    Anytime Fitness: $539,329 – $905,482 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 26 · printed p. 19); Basecamp: $513,073 – $832,511 (2025 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 25). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Basecamp. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Anytime Fitness and Basecamp royalties compare?
    Anytime Fitness: $842/mo (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18 · printed p. 11); Basecamp: 8% (2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Anytime Fitness or Basecamp?
    Anytime Fitness: 2,282 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 67 · printed p. 60); Basecamp: 23 (2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 58). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Anytime Fitness and Basecamp disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Anytime Fitness has reviewed Item 19 figures for 2 location groups; Basecamp has reviewed Item 19 figures for 3 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching