Franchise opportunities compared

    British Swim School vs M14 Hoops

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    British Swim School

    $95,200 – $176,050

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    M14 Hoops

    $104,880 – $195,000

    2025 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    British Swim School

    $59,500

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 14

    M14 Hoops

    $49,500

    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12

    Royalty · Item 6

    British Swim School

    10%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17

    M14 Hoops

    8%

    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13

    Before you compare

    • British Swim School figures come from its 2026 FDD and M14 Hoops figures from its 2025 FDD, so the years differ.
    • British Swim School and M14 Hoops disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (British Swim School: 4, M14 Hoops: 3). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    British Swim School

    $95,200 – $176,050
    2026 FDD · Item 7

    M14 Hoops

    $104,880 – $195,000
    2025 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    British Swim School

    $59,500
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 14

    M14 Hoops

    $49,500
    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12
    Royalty (Item 6)

    British Swim School

    10%
    Royalty percentage
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17

    M14 Hoops

    8%
    Royalty rate
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    British Swim School

    2%
    Marketing fund contribution — 2%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18

    M14 Hoops

    1%
    Brand development fund maximum — 1%
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    British Swim School

    289
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 71

    M14 Hoops

    16
    Outlets at end of 2024
    2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 49
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    British Swim School

    +151
    Calculated: 138 at end of 2022 → 289 at end of 2025

    M14 Hoops

    +15
    Calculated: 1 at end of 2022 → 16 at end of 2024
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    British Swim School

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    M14 Hoops

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    British Swim School

    2011
    From a verified franchisor listing

    M14 Hoops

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    British Swim School

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    M14 Hoops

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    British Swim School
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Outlets open and operating at least six full months in 2025
    244 units
    other Outlet population included in 2025 performance tables
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 68
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Contracted pools per franchise outlet
    2 pools per outlet
    other contracted pools per outlet 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 71
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Contracted pools where franchisees provided services for more than 30 days in c…
    $178,624
    other Revenue per contracted pool average 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 72
    +1 more groups in the full report
    M14 Hoops
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Four franchised outlets operating in first full year
    -$45,721.00
    other Cincinnati adjusted profit
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 48
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Two affiliate-owned outlets combined
    $1,596,024
    other Combined gross sales 2024
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 45
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — One franchised outlet operating through two full measurement periods
    -$35,129.00
    other Milwaukee adjusted profit 2024
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 47

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    British Swim School vs M14 Hoops: common questions

    Which costs less to open, British Swim School or M14 Hoops?
    British Swim School: $95,200 – $176,050 (2026 FDD · Item 7); M14 Hoops: $104,880 – $195,000 (2025 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for British Swim School. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do British Swim School and M14 Hoops royalties compare?
    British Swim School: 10% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17); M14 Hoops: 8% (2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, British Swim School or M14 Hoops?
    British Swim School: 289 (2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 71); M14 Hoops: 16 (2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 49). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do British Swim School and M14 Hoops disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    British Swim School has reviewed Item 19 figures for 4 location groups; M14 Hoops has reviewed Item 19 figures for 3 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching