Franchise opportunities compared

    Buff City Soap vs Matco Tools

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Buff City Soap

    $80,800 – $981,024

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Matco Tools

    Not available

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Buff City Soap

    $50,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 15

    Matco Tools

    $20,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 31

    Royalty · Item 6

    Buff City Soap

    6%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16

    Matco Tools

    Not available

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Buff City Soap discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Buff City Soap: 9, Matco Tools: 12). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Buff City Soap

    $80,800 – $981,024
    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Matco Tools

    Not available
    No reviewed Item 7 total
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Buff City Soap

    $50,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 15

    Matco Tools

    $20,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 31
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Buff City Soap

    6%
    Royalty Fee — 6%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16

    Matco Tools

    Not available
    No reviewed royalty record
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Buff City Soap

    2%
    Brand Fund Contribution — 2% — 2%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16

    Matco Tools

    Not available
    No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Buff City Soap

    230
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 64

    Matco Tools

    1,741
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 88
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Buff City Soap

    −41
    Calculated: 271 at end of 2023 → 230 at end of 2025

    Matco Tools

    −111
    Calculated: 1,852 at end of 2023 → 1,741 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Buff City Soap

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Matco Tools

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Buff City Soap

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Matco Tools

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Buff City Soap

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Matco Tools

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Buff City Soap
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Topthird
    $881,657
    other Maturefranchise topthird average netsales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 61
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Middlethird
    $617,896
    other Maturefranchise middlethird median netsales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 61
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Bottomthird
    $534,871
    other Maturefranchise bottomthird high netsales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 61
    +6 more groups in the full report
    Matco Tools
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 225
    $16,715
    other 19B 225
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 85
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Standard1456 Middlethird
    239 distributors
    other 19A Chart2 Standard1456 Middlethird
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 83
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Standard
    1,456 distributors
    other 19B Standard
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 85
    +9 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Buff City Soap vs Matco Tools: common questions

    Which has more locations, Buff City Soap or Matco Tools?
    Buff City Soap: 230 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 64); Matco Tools: 1,741 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 88). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Buff City Soap and Matco Tools disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Buff City Soap has reviewed Item 19 figures for 9 location groups; Matco Tools has reviewed Item 19 figures for 12 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching