Franchise opportunities compared
Carvel Corporation vs Yogurt Mountain
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
- Carvel Corporation and Yogurt Mountain disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Carvel Corporation: 5, Yogurt Mountain: 7). Different groups are not directly comparable.
| Disclosure | YMYogurt Mountain | |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $38,850 – $1,051,200 2026 FDD · Item 7 | $274,610 – $959,000 2026 FDD · Item 7 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | $3,000 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 30 | Not available No single standard fee identified |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 6% OTHER FEES Type of Fee 1, 4 Amount Date Due Remarks Royalty Fee — 6% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 31 | 6% Royalty — traditional 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | 2% Marketing Obligation Currently, each calendar quarter, you must spend not less than — 2% — 2% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 32 | 2% Marketing Fund contribution — 2% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 720 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 93 | Not available No reviewed outlet counts |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | +68 Calculated: 652 at end of 2023 → 720 at end of 2025 | Not available Only one year reported |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | 1950 From a verified franchisor listing | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 104eligible singlebranded full Streetside Shoppes — 2nd Quartile 26 shoppes other 2nd Quartile Sample size · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 92 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 104eligible singlebranded full Streetside Shoppes — Top Quartile $779,624 other Top Quartile Mean net sales · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 92 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 104eligible singlebranded full Streetside Shoppes — 3rd Quartile 26 shoppes other 3rd Quartile Sample size · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 92 +2 more groups in the full report | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised Stores $624,787 other Franchised Stores annual gross sales · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 45 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Affiliate Stores 7.19 percent other Affiliate Stores seasonality Highest Percentage for Period · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 47 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All Yogurt Mountain Stores 19 units other All Yogurt Mountain Stores at fiscal year end · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 44 +4 more groups in the full report |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
Carvel Corporation vs Yogurt Mountain: common questions
- Which costs less to open, Carvel Corporation or Yogurt Mountain?
- Carvel Corporation: $38,850 – $1,051,200 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Yogurt Mountain: $274,610 – $959,000 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Carvel Corporation. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
- How do Carvel Corporation and Yogurt Mountain royalties compare?
- Carvel Corporation: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 31); Yogurt Mountain: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
- Do Carvel Corporation and Yogurt Mountain disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
- Carvel Corporation has reviewed Item 19 figures for 5 location groups; Yogurt Mountain has reviewed Item 19 figures for 7 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.
Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.