Franchise opportunities compared
Challenge Island vs Young Chefs and Young Chefs Academy
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
- Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Challenge Island: 2, Young Chefs and Young Chefs Academy: 20). Different groups are not directly comparable.
| Disclosure | Challenge Island | Young Chefs and Young Chefs Academy |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $58,465 – $74,050 Total initial investment 58465–74050 USD 2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 16 | $238,735 Total standard franchise — $238,735–$563,164 2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 16 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | $49,900 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 10 | Not available No single standard fee identified |
| Royalty (Item 6) | $7.00 Royalty Fee 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 10 | $6.00 Monthly royalty — 6%; $400 minimum subject to Note 2 grace period 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | $2.00 Marketing Contribution 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 10 | $2.00 Monthly advertising — 2%; $100 minimum subject to Note 3 grace period 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 11 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 177 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 44 | 30 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 53 |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | +27 Calculated: 150 at end of 2023 → 177 at end of 2025 | +4 Calculated: 26 at end of 2023 → 30 at end of 2025 |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | 2013 From a verified franchisor listing | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Full-time franchisees reporting 2025 results 74 territories other Full-time territories · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 43 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Full-time and part-time franchisees reporting 2025 results $256,315 other High gross revenue per franchisee · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 43 | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Full time dual classroom; 1 tertile 1 outlets other Table 1A · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 38 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Full time dual classroom; 2 tertile $456,958 other Table 1A · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 38 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Full time dual classroom; 3 tertile $264,254 other Table 1A · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 38 +17 more groups in the full report |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

