Franchise opportunities compared

    Choice Hotels International vs Expedia CruiseShipCenters

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Choice Hotels International

    $9,490,495 – $55,271,100

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 49

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters

    $149,300

    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 19

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Choice Hotels International

    Not available

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters

    Not available

    Royalty · Item 6

    Choice Hotels International

    6%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 33

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters

    9%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Choice Hotels International: 2, Expedia CruiseShipCenters: 17). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Choice Hotels International

    $9,490,495 – $55,271,100
    Total initial investment excluding real estate — lower estimate
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 49

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters

    $149,300
    Totalinvestment range low
    2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 19
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Choice Hotels International

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Choice Hotels International

    6%
    Royalty Fee: percent of preceding month's Gross Room Revenues, payable monthly
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 33

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters

    9%
    Royalty service monthly supplierpaid grossrevenue
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Choice Hotels International

    10%
    Maximum Choice Accelerate fee for consumed stays resulting from international paid and meta advertising — 10%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 35

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters

    $1,500
    Openingmarketing credit ceiling includedfee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Choice Hotels International

    46
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 81

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters

    93
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 48
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Choice Hotels International

    −6
    Calculated: 52 at end of 2023 → 46 at end of 2025

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters

    −6
    Calculated: 99 at end of 2023 → 93 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Choice Hotels International

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Choice Hotels International

    1941
    From a verified franchisor listing

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters

    1987
    From a verified franchisor listing
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Choice Hotels International

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Expedia CruiseShipCenters

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Choice Hotels International
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All qualifying franchised Radisson hotels
    47.7 percent
    other All qualifying franchised Radisson hotels
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 78
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Qualifying franchised Radisson hotels with above-brand-average likelihood to re…
    52.6 percent
    other Qualifying franchised Radisson hotels with above-brand-average likelihood to recommend
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 79
    Expedia CruiseShipCenters
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Mature USA commercialstorefront franchises
    $2,432
    other USA highperformer75th booking value
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 44
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Mature
    $860,400
    other Mature Highest actual netrevenue
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 46
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Firstyear
    $109,300
    other Firstyear Highest actual netrevenue
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 46
    +14 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Choice Hotels International vs Expedia CruiseShipCenters: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Choice Hotels International or Expedia CruiseShipCenters?
    Choice Hotels International: $9,490,495 – $55,271,100 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 49); Expedia CruiseShipCenters: $149,300 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 19). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Expedia CruiseShipCenters. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Choice Hotels International and Expedia CruiseShipCenters royalties compare?
    Choice Hotels International: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 33); Expedia CruiseShipCenters: 9% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Choice Hotels International or Expedia CruiseShipCenters?
    Choice Hotels International: 46 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 81); Expedia CruiseShipCenters: 93 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 48). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Choice Hotels International and Expedia CruiseShipCenters disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Choice Hotels International has reviewed Item 19 figures for 2 location groups; Expedia CruiseShipCenters has reviewed Item 19 figures for 17 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching