Franchise opportunities compared

    Circle K Standard vs TravelCenters of America TA Express Center

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Circle K Standard

    $18,150 – $7,842,150

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    TravelCenters of America TA Express Center

    $1,174,000 – $37,382,500

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Circle K Standard

    $1,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 21

    TravelCenters of America TA Express Center

    Not available

    Royalty · Item 6

    Circle K Standard

    3.5%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 23

    TravelCenters of America TA Express Center

    $0.01

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 30

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Circle K Standard and TravelCenters of America TA Express Center disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Only neither brand has reviewed Item 19 figures here.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Circle K Standard

    $18,150 – $7,842,150
    2026 FDD · Item 7

    TravelCenters of America TA Express Center

    $1,174,000 – $37,382,500
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Circle K Standard

    $1,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 21

    TravelCenters of America TA Express Center

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Circle K Standard

    3.5%
    Store royalty range; gross sales, monthly ACH 25th
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 23

    TravelCenters of America TA Express Center

    $0.01
    Motor fuel royalty per gallon
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 30
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Circle K Standard

    Not available
    No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee

    TravelCenters of America TA Express Center

    $3,000
    Monthly advertising fee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 31

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Circle K Standard

    6,071
    Outlets at end of 2026
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 86

    TravelCenters of America TA Express Center

    146
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 81
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Circle K Standard

    +8
    Calculated: 6,063 at end of 2024 → 6,071 at end of 2026

    TravelCenters of America TA Express Center

    +64
    Calculated: 82 at end of 2023 → 146 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Circle K Standard

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    TravelCenters of America TA Express Center

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Circle K Standard

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    TravelCenters of America TA Express Center

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Circle K Standard

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    TravelCenters of America TA Express Center

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Circle K Standard

    Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation

    TravelCenters of America TA Express Center

    Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Circle K Standard vs TravelCenters of America TA Express Center: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Circle K Standard or TravelCenters of America TA Express Center?
    Circle K Standard: $18,150 – $7,842,150 (2026 FDD · Item 7); TravelCenters of America TA Express Center: $1,174,000 – $37,382,500 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Circle K Standard. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Circle K Standard and TravelCenters of America TA Express Center royalties compare?
    Circle K Standard: 3.5% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 23); TravelCenters of America TA Express Center: $0.01 (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 30). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Circle K Standard or TravelCenters of America TA Express Center?
    Circle K Standard: 6,071 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 86); TravelCenters of America TA Express Center: 146 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 81). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Circle K Standard and TravelCenters of America TA Express Center disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Circle K Standard makes no Item 19 financial performance representation; TravelCenters of America TA Express Center makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching