Franchise opportunities compared
Clean Juice vs Gong cha
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
- Clean Juice discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Clean Juice: 4, Gong cha: 7). Different groups are not directly comparable.
| Disclosure | CJClean Juice | GCGong cha |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $176,500 – $417,500 2026 FDD · Item 7 | $207,450 – $648,460 Total initial investment ($207,450 low end) 2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 31 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | Not available No single standard fee identified | $18,500 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 35 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 6% Royalty: 6% of Gross Revenue weekly 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14 | 6% Royalty fee 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 22 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | 2% Traditional Store current Brand Development Fund contribution: 2% of Gross Revenue — 2% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14 | 1% Brand Marketing Fee current — 1% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 22 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 55 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 56 | 36 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 81 |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | −14 Calculated: 69 at end of 2024 → 55 at end of 2025 | +34 Calculated: 2 at end of 2023 → 36 at end of 2025 |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Top25% 5 stores other Top25%At/abovemean count · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 55 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — top25% of54traditionalstores $506,313 other top25% averageunitvolume · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 54 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — bottom25% of54traditionalstores $286,537 other bottom25% highestunitvolume · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 54 +1 more groups in the full report | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Second Quartile of 2025 Established Gong Cha Stores in the United States $364,163 other Lowest Net Sales · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 80 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Top Two Quartiles of 2025 Established Gong Cha Stores in the United States $534,690 other Net Sales · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 80 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Third Quartile of 2025 Established Gong Cha Stores in the United States 31 stores other Stores at or above average · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 80 +4 more groups in the full report |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
Clean Juice vs Gong cha: common questions
- Which costs less to open, Clean Juice or Gong cha?
- Clean Juice: $176,500 – $417,500 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Gong cha: $207,450 – $648,460 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 31). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Clean Juice. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
- How do Clean Juice and Gong cha royalties compare?
- Clean Juice: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14); Gong cha: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 22). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
- Which has more locations, Clean Juice or Gong cha?
- Clean Juice: 55 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 56); Gong cha: 36 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 81). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
- Do Clean Juice and Gong cha disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
- Clean Juice has reviewed Item 19 figures for 4 location groups; Gong cha has reviewed Item 19 figures for 7 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.
Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.