Franchise opportunities compared

    Cobblestone Hotels vs Motel

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Cobblestone Hotels

    $101,999 – $5,985,874

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Motel

    $195,259 – $8,239,350

    2025 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Cobblestone Hotels

    $5,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 13

    Motel

    $25,000

    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 14

    Royalty · Item 6

    Cobblestone Hotels

    Not available

    Motel

    5%

    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17

    Before you compare

    • Cobblestone Hotels figures come from its 2026 FDD and Motel figures from its 2025 FDD, so the years differ.
    • Cobblestone Hotels and Motel disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Cobblestone Hotels: 5, Motel: 3). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Cobblestone Hotels

    $101,999 – $5,985,874
    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Motel

    $195,259 – $8,239,350
    2025 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Cobblestone Hotels

    $5,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 13

    Motel

    $25,000
    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 14
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Cobblestone Hotels

    Not available
    No reviewed royalty record

    Motel

    5%
    General Royalty Fee
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Cobblestone Hotels

    $1,215
    Marketing Fund Fee example: $1,215 per 30-day month for a 54-room location
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14

    Motel

    Not available
    No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Cobblestone Hotels

    Not available
    No reviewed outlet counts

    Motel

    1,195
    Outlets at end of 2024
    2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 56
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Cobblestone Hotels

    Not available
    Only one year reported

    Motel

    −16
    Calculated: 1,211 at end of 2022 → 1,195 at end of 2024
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Cobblestone Hotels

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Motel

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Cobblestone Hotels

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Motel

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Cobblestone Hotels

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Motel

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Cobblestone Hotels
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Sample hotels45+rooms open24months endedDecember31 2025 withconsistentfinancial…
    47.38 percent
    other Occupancy average 2024
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 57
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Cobblestone Inn & Suites and Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Sample Hotels; CRS cont…
    46.87 percent
    other CRS contribution average 2024
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 56
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Sample hotels45+rooms open24months endedDecember31 2025 withconsistentfinancial…
    45.44 percent
    other CRS contribution median 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 56
    +2 more groups in the full report
    MMotel
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 1,107 franchised U.S. Motels active for at least two full years as of December…
    $65
    other Chart 1 median average daily rate
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 55
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 1,107 franchised U.S. Motels active and operating as franchised properties for…
    $193
    other Chart 1 high average daily rate
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 55
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 527 franchised U.S. Motels in Chart 1 that achieved the internal A or B Ranking…
    66.62 percent
    other Chart 2 median occupancy rate
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 55

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Cobblestone Hotels vs Motel: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Cobblestone Hotels or Motel?
    Cobblestone Hotels: $101,999 – $5,985,874 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Motel: $195,259 – $8,239,350 (2025 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Cobblestone Hotels. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    Do Cobblestone Hotels and Motel disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Cobblestone Hotels has reviewed Item 19 figures for 5 location groups; Motel has reviewed Item 19 figures for 3 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching