Franchise opportunities compared
Criterium Engineers vs Surv
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
- Criterium Engineers discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Criterium Engineers: 3, Surv: 3). Different groups are not directly comparable.
| Disclosure | Criterium Engineers | |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $75,380 – $174,160 2026 FDD · Item 7 | $111,825 – $160,650 Total Estimate — $111825 2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 18 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | Not available No single standard fee identified | $50,000 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 11 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | $4.50 Royalty rate over $1,000,000 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13 | $7.00 Notes — 7% Royalty 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | $50 Monthly marketing fee minimum 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13 | $2.00 Brand Development Fund — — 2% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 30 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 66 | 5 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 44 |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | −2 Calculated: 32 at end of 2023 → 30 at end of 2025 | +4 Calculated: 1 at end of 2023 → 5 at end of 2025 |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchisee offices operating at least one Affiliate office location for at leas… 34 units other Affiliate network franchise offices operating as of December 31 2025 · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 63 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchisee offices operating at least one Affiliate office location for at leas… 33 units other 2023 total operating franchise offices · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 64 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — New offices opened in the last ten years; transfers of existing offices excluded 10 years other New franchise office lookback period · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 65 | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Founder-operated business and one materially compliant franchised business $1,090,548 other gross revenue · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 42 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All four full-year businesses including noncompliant 53 percent other Aggregate gross revenue growth · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 42 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Two noncompliant Surv businesses, each separate $128,400 other First noncompliant business gross revenue · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 43 |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
