Franchise opportunities compared
Eggs Up Grill vs Village Inn
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
- Village Inn discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Eggs Up Grill: 10, Village Inn: 3). Different groups are not directly comparable.
| Disclosure | Eggs Up Grill | Village Inn |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $821,500 – $1,141,000 Total estimated initial investment: $821,500 to $1,141,000 2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 18 | $1,076,000 – $2,745,000 2026 FDD · Item 7 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | $45,000 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 11 | $35,000 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 31 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 4% oss Sales , subject to increase up to the Marketing Cap Weekly , with Royalty We have capped at — 4 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13 | 4% matic bank transfer through an automated clearinghouse. The royalty is calculated at — 4% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 34 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | 4% oss Sales , subject to increase up to the Marketing Cap Weekly , with Royalty We have capped at — 4 — 4% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13 | 1% ery fees, and other customary promotions or discounts Marketing Fee 1,3, 5 Currently — 1% — 1% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 32 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | Not available No reviewed outlet counts | 218 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 71 |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | Not available Only one year reported | −12 Calculated: 230 at end of 2023 → 218 at end of 2025 |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | 2005 From a verified franchisor listing | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Sales Group 38 percent other Sales Group · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 53 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Cost and EBITDA Group 17.6 percent other Cost and EBITDA Group · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 54 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Sales Group top half 46.7 percent other % At or Above Average · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 53 +7 more groups in the full report | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Systemwide companyandfranchise $658,011 other Systemwide companyandfranchise2025 Low · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 69 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised $3,484,052 other Franchised2025 High · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 70 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Company-owned $1,718,888 other Company-owned2025 Median · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 70 |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
Eggs Up Grill vs Village Inn: common questions
- Which costs less to open, Eggs Up Grill or Village Inn?
- Eggs Up Grill: $821,500 – $1,141,000 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 18); Village Inn: $1,076,000 – $2,745,000 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Eggs Up Grill. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
- How do Eggs Up Grill and Village Inn royalties compare?
- Eggs Up Grill: 4% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13); Village Inn: 4% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 34). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
- Do Eggs Up Grill and Village Inn disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
- Eggs Up Grill has reviewed Item 19 figures for 10 location groups; Village Inn has reviewed Item 19 figures for 3 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.
Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

