Franchise opportunities compared

    Ferncrest vs Griswold Home Care, Inc.

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Ferncrest

    $386,500 – $804,315

    2025 FDD · Item 7

    Griswold Home Care, Inc.

    $99,600 – $185,600

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Ferncrest

    $50,000

    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 8

    Griswold Home Care, Inc.

    $49,500

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 16

    Royalty · Item 6

    Ferncrest

    7%

    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 8

    Griswold Home Care, Inc.

    5%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18

    Before you compare

    • Ferncrest figures come from its 2025 FDD and Griswold Home Care, Inc. figures from its 2026 FDD, so the years differ.
    • Ferncrest and Griswold Home Care, Inc. disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Only Griswold Home Care, Inc. has reviewed Item 19 figures here.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Ferncrest

    $386,500 – $804,315
    2025 FDD · Item 7

    Griswold Home Care, Inc.

    $99,600 – $185,600
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Ferncrest

    $50,000
    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 8

    Griswold Home Care, Inc.

    $49,500
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 16
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Ferncrest

    7%
    Royalty fee
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 8

    Griswold Home Care, Inc.

    5%
    Royalty rate
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Ferncrest

    3%
    Brand fund contribution — 3%
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 9

    Griswold Home Care, Inc.

    1%
    General marketing rate — 1%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Ferncrest

    1
    Outlets at end of 2024
    2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 34

    Griswold Home Care, Inc.

    63
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 50
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Ferncrest

    +1
    Calculated: 0 at end of 2022 → 1 at end of 2024

    Griswold Home Care, Inc.

    −48
    Calculated: 111 at end of 2022 → 63 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Ferncrest

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Griswold Home Care, Inc.

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Ferncrest

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Griswold Home Care, Inc.

    1984
    From a verified franchisor listing
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Ferncrest

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Griswold Home Care, Inc.

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Ferncrest

    Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation

    Griswold Home Care, Inc.
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All qualifying Agency Model franchised locations operating through the entire m…
    $1,492,691
    other All franchise locations median gross receipts
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 47
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Agency Model franchise locations operating in a single territory for the full m…
    $707,699
    other Single territory median gross receipts
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 47
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Five affiliate-owned locations operating in 11 territories
    $2,713,620
    other affiliate-owned location gross receipts
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 49
    +1 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Ferncrest vs Griswold Home Care, Inc.: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Ferncrest or Griswold Home Care, Inc.?
    Ferncrest: $386,500 – $804,315 (2025 FDD · Item 7); Griswold Home Care, Inc.: $99,600 – $185,600 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Griswold Home Care, Inc.. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Ferncrest and Griswold Home Care, Inc. royalties compare?
    Ferncrest: 7% (2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 8); Griswold Home Care, Inc.: 5% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Ferncrest or Griswold Home Care, Inc.?
    Ferncrest: 1 (2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 34); Griswold Home Care, Inc.: 63 (2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 50). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Ferncrest and Griswold Home Care, Inc. disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Ferncrest makes no Item 19 financial performance representation; Griswold Home Care, Inc. has reviewed Item 19 figures for 4 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching