Franchise opportunities compared

    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop vs Subway

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop

    Not available

    Subway

    $227,000 – $458,000

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop

    $40,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 13

    Subway

    $15,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 29

    Royalty · Item 6

    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop

    5%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14

    Subway

    8%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 36

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Subway discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Only Fuzzy’s Taco Shop has reviewed Item 19 figures here.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop

    Not available
    No reviewed Item 7 total

    Subway

    $227,000 – $458,000
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop

    $40,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 13

    Subway

    $15,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 29
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop

    5%
    OTHER FEES Type of Fee Amount 1, 2 Due Date Remarks Royalty Fee — 5%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14

    Subway

    8%
    Royalty fee
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 36
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop

    Not available
    No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee

    Subway

    4.5%
    Advertising fee — 4.5%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 36

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop

    106
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 52

    Subway

    18,773
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 94
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop

    −26
    Calculated: 132 at end of 2023 → 106 at end of 2025

    Subway

    −1,360
    Calculated: 20,133 at end of 2023 → 18,773 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Subway

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop

    2009
    From a verified franchisor listing

    Subway

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Subway

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Chart2 Texas 2 nd Quartile
    31 percent
    other Fuzzy's Texas 2nd Quartile
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 50
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Chart1 Texas
    $2,516,682
    other Fuzzy's Traditional Franchised Texas Restaurants
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 50
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Chart2 Texas 4 th Quartile
    $939,084
    other Fuzzy's Traditional Franchised Texas Restaurants
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 50
    +7 more groups in the full report
    Subway

    Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop vs Subway: common questions

    How do Fuzzy’s Taco Shop and Subway royalties compare?
    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop: 5% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14); Subway: 8% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 36). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Fuzzy’s Taco Shop or Subway?
    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop: 106 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 52); Subway: 18,773 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 94). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Fuzzy’s Taco Shop and Subway disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Fuzzy’s Taco Shop has reviewed Item 19 figures for 10 location groups; Subway makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching