Franchise opportunities compared

    Mac Tools vs Zagg

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Mac Tools

    $9,750 – $418,385

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Zagg

    $10,000 – $49,000

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Mac Tools

    $8,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 16

    Zagg

    Not available

    Royalty · Item 6

    Mac Tools

    Not available

    Zagg

    5%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Mac Tools and Zagg disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Mac Tools: 1, Zagg: 2). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Mac Tools

    $9,750 – $418,385
    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Zagg

    $10,000 – $49,000
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Mac Tools

    $8,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 16

    Zagg

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Mac Tools

    Not available
    No reviewed royalty record

    Zagg

    5%
    Royalty gross volume
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Mac Tools

    Not available
    No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee

    Zagg

    $1,000
    Initial equipment/marketing
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Mac Tools

    832
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 82

    Zagg

    98
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 42
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Mac Tools

    +19
    Calculated: 813 at end of 2023 → 832 at end of 2025

    Zagg

    −1
    Calculated: 99 at end of 2023 → 98 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Mac Tools

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Zagg

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Mac Tools

    March 2007
    2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 10

    Zagg

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Mac Tools

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Zagg

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Mac Tools
    Franchised (894 routes) — revenue
    $19,457 per Route
    other Gross sales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 80
    ZZagg
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All ZAGG outlets operational at least one month in respective year; includes te…
    $24,682
    other Monthly Gross Median
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 39
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All ZAGG outlets operational at least one month in respective year; includes te…
    70 percent
    other Gross Profit Margin
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 40

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Mac Tools vs Zagg: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Mac Tools or Zagg?
    Mac Tools: $9,750 – $418,385 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Zagg: $10,000 – $49,000 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Mac Tools. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    Which has more locations, Mac Tools or Zagg?
    Mac Tools: 832 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 82); Zagg: 98 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 42). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Mac Tools and Zagg disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Mac Tools has reviewed Item 19 figures for 1 location group; Zagg has reviewed Item 19 figures for 2 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching