Franchise opportunities compared

    Magnolia Bakery International vs Scooter’S Coffee

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Magnolia Bakery International

    $499,700 – $1,276,270

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Scooter’S Coffee

    $658,898 – $1,465,750

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Magnolia Bakery International

    $29,500

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 11

    Scooter’S Coffee

    $40,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12

    Royalty · Item 6

    Magnolia Bakery International

    6%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12

    Scooter’S Coffee

    6%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Magnolia Bakery International and Scooter’S Coffee disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Magnolia Bakery International: 15, Scooter’S Coffee: 46). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Magnolia Bakery International

    $499,700 – $1,276,270
    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Scooter’S Coffee

    $658,898 – $1,465,750
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Magnolia Bakery International

    $29,500
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 11

    Scooter’S Coffee

    $40,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Magnolia Bakery International

    6%
    Royalty 6% — 6%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12

    Scooter’S Coffee

    6%
    Royalty rate
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Magnolia Bakery International

    3%
    Marketing Fund — 3% — 3%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12

    Scooter’S Coffee

    2%
    National marketing contribution current — 2%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Magnolia Bakery International

    11
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 51

    Scooter’S Coffee

    849
    Outlets at end of 2024
    2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 63
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Magnolia Bakery International

    +1
    Calculated: 10 at end of 2023 → 11 at end of 2025

    Scooter’S Coffee

    +294
    Calculated: 555 at end of 2022 → 849 at end of 2024
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Magnolia Bakery International

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Scooter’S Coffee

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Magnolia Bakery International

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Scooter’S Coffee

    2001
    From a verified franchisor listing
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Magnolia Bakery International

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Scooter’S Coffee

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Magnolia Bakery International
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — TenUSaffiliatedBakeries:8FullBake/2NoBake
    5 units
    other TenaffiliateBakeries
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 45
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — TenUSaffiliatedBakeries:8FullBake/2NoBake Morning7am–12pm
    107 transactions
    other Morning7am–12pm
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 47
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — TenUSaffiliatedBakeries:8FullBake/2NoBake Midday12pm–5pm
    $5,137
    other Midday12pm–5pm
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 47
    +12 more groups in the full report
    Scooter’S Coffee
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Comparable Kiosk Stores open for the entire 24-month period 2022-2023
    131 stores
    other Kiosk stores attaining/exceeding average
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 55
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — New Kiosk Stores — first full calendar month; 2024
    $81,057
    other Kiosk first full month median Gross Sales
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 56
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Reporting Kiosk Stores, Top 1/4
    $111,556
    other Reporting Kiosk Top 1/4
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 51
    +43 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Magnolia Bakery International vs Scooter’S Coffee: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Magnolia Bakery International or Scooter’S Coffee?
    Magnolia Bakery International: $499,700 – $1,276,270 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Scooter’S Coffee: $658,898 – $1,465,750 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Magnolia Bakery International. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Magnolia Bakery International and Scooter’S Coffee royalties compare?
    Magnolia Bakery International: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12); Scooter’S Coffee: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 13). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Magnolia Bakery International or Scooter’S Coffee?
    Magnolia Bakery International: 11 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 51); Scooter’S Coffee: 849 (2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 63). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Magnolia Bakery International and Scooter’S Coffee disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Magnolia Bakery International has reviewed Item 19 figures for 15 location groups; Scooter’S Coffee has reviewed Item 19 figures for 46 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching