Franchise opportunities compared
MN Filing 36539-202605-08 vs Sun Tan City
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
- MN Filing 36539-202605-08 discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (MN Filing 36539-202605-08: 22, Sun Tan City: 2). Different groups are not directly comparable.
| Disclosure | MFMN Filing 36539-202605-08 | |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $695,870 – $1,046,506 2026 FDD · Item 7 | $1,048,790 – $1,797,750 Total single-salon initial investment excluding real estate — lower estimate 2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 22 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | Not available No single standard fee identified | Not available No single standard fee identified |
| Royalty (Item 6) | 6% Royalty fee 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 27 | 8% · New — 8% Royalty 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | 2% National Advertising Fund contribution — 2% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 27 | 2% National marketing fund contribution — current percentage of Gross Revenue — 2% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 993 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 71 | 252 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 52 |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | −60 Calculated: 1,053 at end of 2023 → 993 at end of 2025 | −1 Calculated: 253 at end of 2023 → 252 at end of 2025 |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Massage Envy Businesses in the Network, Top Quartile, Fiscal Year 2025. 3,387 square feet other Top Quartile average square footage · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 67 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Massage Envy Businesses in the Network, second Quartile, Fiscal Year 2025. 48.6 percent other 2nd Quartile businesses attaining/exceeding average · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 67 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Massage Envy Businesses in the Network, third Quartile, Fiscal Year 2025. 120 businesses other 3rd Quartile businesses attaining/exceeding average · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 67 +19 more groups in the full report | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 92 full-year company salons $360,969 other 92 full-year company salons · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 50 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised full-year salons; narrative154,table heading162 3,488 sessions other Franchised full-year salons; narrative154,table heading162 · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 51 |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
MN Filing 36539-202605-08 vs Sun Tan City: common questions
- Which costs less to open, MN Filing 36539-202605-08 or Sun Tan City?
- MN Filing 36539-202605-08: $695,870 – $1,046,506 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Sun Tan City: $1,048,790 – $1,797,750 (2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 22). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for MN Filing 36539-202605-08. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
- How do MN Filing 36539-202605-08 and Sun Tan City royalties compare?
- MN Filing 36539-202605-08: 6% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 27); Sun Tan City: 8% · New — 8% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
- Which has more locations, MN Filing 36539-202605-08 or Sun Tan City?
- MN Filing 36539-202605-08: 993 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 71); Sun Tan City: 252 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 52). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
- Do MN Filing 36539-202605-08 and Sun Tan City disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
- MN Filing 36539-202605-08 has reviewed Item 19 figures for 22 location groups; Sun Tan City has reviewed Item 19 figures for 2 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.
Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.