Franchise opportunities compared
Neat Method vs Smash My Trash
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
- Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Neat Method: 16, Smash My Trash: 2). Different groups are not directly comparable.
| Disclosure | Smash My Trash | |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $37,500 – $44,500 Total initial investment 2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 17 | $372,050 – $492,200 Total Estimated Initial Investment 2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 26 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | $30,000 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 12 | Not available No single standard fee identified |
| Royalty (Item 6) | $20 Royalty rate — Tier 1, quarterly service revenue 0 - $32,499 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 15 | 8% of Gross Sales from trash compaction services plus 8% of Net Revenue from Ancillary Services; after 9 months, the greater of that amount or $2,600 multiplied by the number of Trucks required in operation Royalty 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | $1.00 Advertising fund contribution 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 12 | 1% of percentage of gross sales Brand Fund Contribution 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 18 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 93 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 38 | 523 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 73 |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | −1 Calculated: 94 at end of 2023 → 93 at end of 2025 | +4 Calculated: 519 at end of 2023 → 523 at end of 2025 |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | 2018 2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 9 |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | 2018 2026 FDD · Item 1 · PDF p. 9 |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Tier 1 40 percent other Percentage meeting or exceeding average · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 37 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Tier 2 27 outlets other Number of markets · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 37 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Tier 3 29 outlets other Number of markets · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 37 +13 more groups in the full report | Franchised (107 locations) — revenue — 107 franchised Smash My Trash Businesses (covering, in the aggregate, 507 Terri… $840,477 median Gross Sales · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 69 Franchised (107 locations) — revenue — 107 franchised Smash My Trash Businesses (covering, in the aggregate, 507 Terri… 37.4 percent other Covered Businesses exceeding average Gross Sales · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 69 |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
