Franchise opportunities compared
Red Roof Inn vs Red Roof Inn / Red Roof Plus
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
- Red Roof Inn and Red Roof Inn / Red Roof Plus disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Red Roof Inn: 18, Red Roof Inn / Red Roof Plus: 18). Different groups are not directly comparable.
| Disclosure | Red Roof Inn | RRRed Roof Inn / Red Roof Plus |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $264,850 – $8,293,100 2026 FDD · Item 7 | $7,253,500 – $8,923,100 2026 FDD · Item 7 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | Not available No single standard fee identified | $27,000 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 15 |
| Royalty (Item 6) | $3,000 ge point reduction in Royalty Fees for a period of up to one year (for a maximum value of — 3000 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16 | 5% Royalty fee 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | 4% s a Red Roof Inn throughout the designated 12-month period. Marketing and Reservation Fee — 4 — 4% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17 | 4% Marketing and Reservation Fee — 4% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17 |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 596 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 71 | 623 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 71 |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | +35 Calculated: 561 at end of 2023 → 596 at end of 2025 | +17 Calculated: 606 at end of 2023 → 623 at end of 2025 |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Red Roof Inn and PLUS+ $81 other Table1 Red Roof Inn and PLUS+ Affiliate-owned · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 66 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Red Roof Inn and PLUS+ $69 other Table2 Red Roof Inn and PLUS+ Franchised · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 66 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Red Roof Inn and PLUS+ $70 other Table3 Red Roof Inn and PLUS+ Mixed affiliate/franchised · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 66 +15 more groups in the full report | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchised Red Roof Inn and Red Roof PLUS+ Inns 68.65 percent other Daily Room Rate · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 66 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Affiliate-owned and franchised Red Roof Inn and Red Roof PLUS+ Inns, as separat… 36.9 percent other Brand Contribution · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 66 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Affiliate-owned Red Roof PLUS+ Inns $51 per room other RevPAR · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 67 +15 more groups in the full report |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.
Red Roof Inn vs Red Roof Inn / Red Roof Plus: common questions
- Which costs less to open, Red Roof Inn or Red Roof Inn / Red Roof Plus?
- Red Roof Inn: $264,850 – $8,293,100 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Red Roof Inn / Red Roof Plus: $7,253,500 – $8,923,100 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Red Roof Inn. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
- How do Red Roof Inn and Red Roof Inn / Red Roof Plus royalties compare?
- Red Roof Inn: $3,000 (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16); Red Roof Inn / Red Roof Plus: 5% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
- Which has more locations, Red Roof Inn or Red Roof Inn / Red Roof Plus?
- Red Roof Inn: 596 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 71); Red Roof Inn / Red Roof Plus: 623 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 71). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
- Do Red Roof Inn and Red Roof Inn / Red Roof Plus disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
- Red Roof Inn has reviewed Item 19 figures for 18 location groups; Red Roof Inn / Red Roof Plus has reviewed Item 19 figures for 18 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.
Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.
