Franchise opportunities compared

    Red Roof Inn vs Studio 6

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Red Roof Inn

    $264,850 – $8,293,100

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Studio 6

    $196,183 – $911,517,088

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Red Roof Inn

    Not available

    Studio 6

    $25,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 15

    Royalty · Item 6

    Red Roof Inn

    $3,000

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16

    Studio 6

    5%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17

    Before you compare

    • Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
    • Red Roof Inn and Studio 6 disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Red Roof Inn: 18, Studio 6: 2). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Red Roof Inn

    $264,850 – $8,293,100
    2026 FDD · Item 7

    Studio 6

    $196,183 – $911,517,088
    2026 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Red Roof Inn

    Not available
    No single standard fee identified

    Studio 6

    $25,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 15
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Red Roof Inn

    $3,000
    ge point reduction in Royalty Fees for a period of up to one year (for a maximum value of — 3000
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16

    Studio 6

    5%
    Royalty Fee — 5% of Gross Room Revenues
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Red Roof Inn

    4%
    s a Red Roof Inn throughout the designated 12-month period. Marketing and Reservation Fee — 4 — 4%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17

    Studio 6

    Not available
    No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Red Roof Inn

    596
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 71

    Studio 6

    64
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 63
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Red Roof Inn

    +35
    Calculated: 561 at end of 2023 → 596 at end of 2025

    Studio 6

    +23
    Calculated: 41 at end of 2023 → 64 at end of 2025
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Red Roof Inn

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    Studio 6

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Red Roof Inn

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Studio 6

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Red Roof Inn

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Studio 6

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Red Roof Inn
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Red Roof Inn and PLUS+
    $81
    other Table1 Red Roof Inn and PLUS+ Affiliate-owned
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 66
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Red Roof Inn and PLUS+
    $69
    other Table2 Red Roof Inn and PLUS+ Franchised
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 66
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Red Roof Inn and PLUS+
    $70
    other Table3 Red Roof Inn and PLUS+ Mixed affiliate/franchised
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 66
    +15 more groups in the full report
    Studio 6
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — All selected motels
    65.2 percent
    other All selected motels Occupancy
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 56
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — A/B ranked subset
    79.4 percent
    other A/B ranked subset Occupancy
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 57

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Red Roof Inn vs Studio 6: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Red Roof Inn or Studio 6?
    Red Roof Inn: $264,850 – $8,293,100 (2026 FDD · Item 7); Studio 6: $196,183 – $911,517,088 (2026 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Studio 6. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Red Roof Inn and Studio 6 royalties compare?
    Red Roof Inn: $3,000 (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16); Studio 6: 5% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 17). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Red Roof Inn or Studio 6?
    Red Roof Inn: 596 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 71); Studio 6: 64 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 63). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Red Roof Inn and Studio 6 disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Red Roof Inn has reviewed Item 19 figures for 18 location groups; Studio 6 has reviewed Item 19 figures for 2 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching