Franchise opportunities compared
Residence Inn by Marriott vs Series by Marriott
Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.
Before you compare
- Both sets of figures come from 2026 FDDs.
- Residence Inn by Marriott discloses more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
- Only Residence Inn by Marriott has reviewed Item 19 figures here.
| Disclosure | RIResidence Inn by Marriott | SBSeries by Marriott |
|---|---|---|
| Financial commitment | ||
| Estimated initial investment (Item 7) | $15,396,510 – $45,474,010 2026 FDD · Item 7 | $1,128,210 – $7,572,270 Total Range (excludes costs listed as not determinable): $1,128,210.00 to $7,572,270.00 2026 FDD · Item 7 · PDF p. 66 |
| Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5) | $6.00 2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 38 | Not available No single standard fee identified |
| Royalty (Item 6) | Not available No reviewed royalty record | $5.00 3 This charge includes a royalty fee in the amount of — 5% 2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 57 |
| Brand / advertising fund (Item 6) | Not available No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee | Not available No reviewed brand or advertising fund fee |
| System scale & health | ||
| Total outlets (Item 20) | 1,640 Outlets at end of 2025 2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 123 | Not available No reviewed outlet counts |
| Net outlet change (Item 20) | +66 Calculated: 1,574 at end of 2023 → 1,640 at end of 2025 | Not available Only one year reported |
| Outlet exits (Item 20) | Not available No complete exit records for a year | Not available No complete exit records for a year |
| Franchising since (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Franchisor founded (Item 1) | Not available Not in reviewed records | Not available Not in reviewed records |
| Performance (Item 19) | ||
| Financial performance (Item 19), by location group | Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — STR Included (at least two years) 119.7 index other STR Included · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 117 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — 1-Year Comp $127 other 1-Year Comp · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 118 Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — New Generation (ninth-generation-or-later design STR Included) 86.7 percent other New Generation · 2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 118 +3 more groups in the full report | Not disclosed — no Item 19 financial performance representation |
Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.