Franchise opportunities compared

    Shipley Do-Nuts vs U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt

    Reviewed figures from each brand's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), side by side. Each figure carries its FDD year and page. This is not a ranking or recommendation, and the two FDDs may cover different years and location groups.

    Initial investment · Item 7

    Shipley Do-Nuts

    $62,000 – $516,512

    2026 FDD · Item 7

    U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt

    $418,500 – $685,920

    2025 FDD · Item 7

    Initial franchise fee · Item 5

    Shipley Do-Nuts

    $20,000

    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 14

    U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt

    $25,000

    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 15

    Royalty · Item 6

    Shipley Do-Nuts

    5%

    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14

    U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt

    6%

    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16

    Before you compare

    • Shipley Do-Nuts figures come from its 2026 FDD and U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt figures from its 2025 FDD, so the years differ.
    • Shipley Do-Nuts and U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt disclose more than one business format, so the investment range spans formats; the full report breaks them out.
    • Item 19 figures cover the location groups each FDD names (Shipley Do-Nuts: 16, U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt: 6). Different groups are not directly comparable.

    Financial commitment

    Estimated initial investment (Item 7)

    Shipley Do-Nuts

    $62,000 – $516,512
    2026 FDD · Item 7

    U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt

    $418,500 – $685,920
    2025 FDD · Item 7
    Standard initial franchise fee (Item 5)

    Shipley Do-Nuts

    $20,000
    2026 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 14

    U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt

    $25,000
    2025 FDD · Item 5 · PDF p. 15
    Royalty (Item 6)

    Shipley Do-Nuts

    5%
    Royalty weekly gross sales — 5%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14

    U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt

    6%
    Royalty
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16
    Brand / advertising fund (Item 6)

    Shipley Do-Nuts

    1%
    System Brand Fund — 1% — 1%
    2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 15

    U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt

    $6,000
    Co-branding fee
    2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16

    System scale & health

    Total outlets (Item 20)

    Shipley Do-Nuts

    393
    Outlets at end of 2025
    2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 58

    U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt

    57
    Outlets at end of 2024
    2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 57
    Net outlet change (Item 20)

    Shipley Do-Nuts

    +44
    Calculated: 349 at end of 2023 → 393 at end of 2025

    U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt

    −7
    Calculated: 64 at end of 2022 → 57 at end of 2024
    Outlet exits (Item 20)

    Shipley Do-Nuts

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year

    U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt

    Not available
    No complete exit records for a year
    Franchising since (Item 1)

    Shipley Do-Nuts

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records
    Franchisor founded (Item 1)

    Shipley Do-Nuts

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt

    Not available
    Not in reviewed records

    Financial performance (Item 19), by location group

    Shipley Do-Nuts
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Reporting company
    $1,520,037
    other Reporting company
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 55
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Franchise
    127 shops
    other Franchise
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 56
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Top25% franchised shops
    $1,468,882
    other Top25% franchised
    2026 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 56
    +13 more groups in the full report
    UFU-Swirl Frozen Yogurt
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Bottom 50% of qualifying franchised locations, open more than 12 months as of D…
    $303,561
    other Bottom 50% of locations
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 52
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Top 50% of Yogurtini-branded franchised locations open more than 12 months as o…
    $831,608
    other Top 50% Yogurtini branded locations
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 52
    Locations counted not stated in the reviewed record — Bottom 50% of Yogurtini-branded franchised locations open more than 12 months a…
    $438,019
    other Bottom 50% Yogurtini branded locations
    2025 FDD · Item 19 · PDF p. 52
    +3 more groups in the full report

    Item 19 groups are shown separately and never combined. Revenue or sales figures are not profit. Net outlet change and turnover are Franopolis calculations from the disclosed counts; turnover is a count-based rate, not a measure of owner earnings.

    Shipley Do-Nuts vs U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt: common questions

    Which costs less to open, Shipley Do-Nuts or U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt?
    Shipley Do-Nuts: $62,000 – $516,512 (2026 FDD · Item 7); U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt: $418,500 – $685,920 (2025 FDD · Item 7). These are each franchisor's Item 7 estimated initial investment. The low end of the disclosed estimate is lower for Shipley Do-Nuts. At least one range spans several business formats. Estimates are not quotes, and the FDD years may differ.
    How do Shipley Do-Nuts and U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt royalties compare?
    Shipley Do-Nuts: 5% (2026 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 14); U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt: 6% (2025 FDD · Item 6 · PDF p. 16). Royalties as disclosed in Item 6; other recurring fees are listed separately.
    Which has more locations, Shipley Do-Nuts or U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt?
    Shipley Do-Nuts: 393 (2026 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 58); U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt: 57 (2025 FDD · Item 20 · PDF p. 57). Total outlets from Item 20. Outlet counts do not indicate territory availability or franchisee results.
    Do Shipley Do-Nuts and U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt disclose financial performance (Item 19)?
    Shipley Do-Nuts has reviewed Item 19 figures for 16 location groups; U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt has reviewed Item 19 figures for 6 location groups. Different location groups are not directly comparable, and revenue is not profit.

    Answers restate the reviewed figures above. Not a ranking or recommendation.

    How Franopolis reviews FDD figures

    Keep researching